Books And Life And The World In General (AKA I’ve-Given-Up-Coz-It’s-So-Not-Weekly Recap)

So, a few interesting things that have happened since I last posted one of these recaps (which was a huge amount of time ago), both book related and blog related. Let’s recap!

On the blog

After a pretty dodgy (well, REALLY dodgy) May, in which I got really lazy and posted three posts, I’ve decided to crack down and start to post way more, and June was a testament of that – with 9 posts, each one more or less three days apart (I think I missed a few days which is why it’s 9 and not 10). It also helps that I’ve been on holidays recently, but I’m not sure about how it’ll go when school starts again.

Here are the posts in chronological order (all links open in new tabs):

Let’s Talk About Super Depressing Books (AKA, I’m Secretly A Potato)

Why Yellow Brick War Was Mostly An Exercise In Futility

Death By Water… Or Death By Stuffy Prose?

Presenting Yet Another Meh Book

Waer’s the pinata, Bob?

Why I Try To Treat Blogging As A Job, Not Just A Hobby (And Why You Should Do So Too)

Do People Really Need To Die In YA Novels?

I Tried The Writer’s Life For A Few Days (Here’s How It Went)

A Science Book That’s Funny AND Informative? It Can’t Be?

Why Six Of Crows Was Good, But Very, Very, Exhausting

The Elusive Productivity Ninja

Annoying Characters, But Great Writing… I’m So Torn!

Oh No… This One’s A Flounder (AKA: A Review of One Would Think The Deep)

If It Fits… Would You Really Sits?

Nimona: A REALLY, REALLY Good Comic Book. Period.

How To Turbo-Charge Your Book Reviews (Six Fail-Proof Methods)

You might have also noticed that the last post there (How to Turbo-Charge Your Book Reviews) had a slightly different graphic – same style, but basically just stretched – and the main reason for this is because I’ve recently discovered the magic of Pinterest. And the Pinterest God demands images that are long and stretched, otherwise he will come down and stab you with this Pinteresty sword.

So from now on, any post that I intend to promote on Pinterest (most of these will be How-Tos or Discussions posts) will have graphics that are more compatible with Pinterest. (Btw, you should follow me. #ShamelessPromotion)

Other TGW News

Ooooh this is where things get interesting.

So two things.

I redesigned a blog!

As in a blog that isn’t my own! My friend Sarah over at Written Word Worlds has wanted to redesign her blog for ages, and I was just in a really designing mood so I though, heck, let’s do this. And we did! I worked together with Sarah to ask her what sort of style she wanted, what sort of colour palette, etc. And we came up with this:

CmcGAfwUEAAnKJX
Before…
Capture
After!

Of course, there are a few ornaments as well, such as:

4 Stars
Rating system!
Button
Button!
Let's Talk
Let’s talk!
Signature
Signature!
You might like
You might like!
Capture
Twitter!

So yeah, I’m really happy with the job I did there. Thoughts? Opinions? Likes? Dislikes?

I met Jay Kristoff

So I went to an author’s workshop with Jay Kristoff (author of Illuminae? Anyone?) last week on Building and Destroying Worlds and it was just so incredibly informative. Here’s a picture:

image2
Thing to consider when adding monsters into your story
image
Thing to consider when adding magic into your story

So yeah. You guys should buy Illuminae.

More Posts


What about you? What did you get up to this month? Have you been reading anything interesting? Did you go to any events? LET ME KNOW BELOW!

13 thoughts on “Books And Life And The World In General (AKA I’ve-Given-Up-Coz-It’s-So-Not-Weekly Recap)

  1. MAGIC POURS FROM YOUR FINGERS WHEN YOU TYPE OUT ANYTHING. HOW IS IT FAIR THAT YOU CAN DESIGN LIKE THIS?

    ALSO, YOU MET JAY KRISTOFF? I feel like I’m shouting everything and I’m sorry but ALL THIS EXCITEMENT! ILLUMINAE was GOLD and I cannot wait for GEMINA! Or NEVERNIGHT becsuse how amazing does that book look? I could of met this awesome man once and I lost the chance, WHYYY?

    I honestly love yuiue design so much I might cry at that beauty-ness. JUST LOOK AT THIS. All this activeness has me looking down at my laziness and HOW IS IT YOU ARE GOLD?

    I must now find the gold to pave your cement oh-great-one. Shall be back soon (because no one can stay away from this awesomeness long!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GAH! THANK YOU SO MUCH, I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE THE DESIGN 🙂 🙂 🙂 You are way too nice. (I’m still reading through Illuminae) I reckon if you give him a ping on Twitter, he could probably shoot you over an early ebook of Nevernight? He’s a super nice guy and it wouldn’t hurt to try, right? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, I think my next month will be pretty busy as well… a large part of why I was able to post so much is because I’m currently on school holidays, but they finish in a few days, so then it’s back to school and back to DYING UNDER HOMEWORK. Good luck next month! 🙂

      Like

  2. DUDE, I HONESTLY LOVE THE NEW DESIGNS FOR SARAH’S BLOG. HOW ARE YOU SO TALENTED? *sobs*
    Reg’s post literally struck a chord in me because idk how many times I’ve been envious of other bloggers, but I’m trying to stop becoming a greenie now! AND CAIT IS QUEEN, OBVIOUSLY. SHE WILL BE WELL INFORMED! Alexandra’s haul was massive. Like, WOAH. Aentee’s graphics are always fabulous, she’s the graphics queen. And Mitchii is such a chill blogger always!
    (Okay, I’ll admit that I’ve read these already :P)
    Pinterest? Nah. Doesn’t work for me. I don’t like making my graphics long (I find those proportions absurd) and I don’t like to use it for anything other than making storyboards! I guess you can have loads of fun there also!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. GAH! THANK YOU RITHIKA! 😀 Long and skinny is pretty annoying when you view it on blogs, but great for Pinterest (all of these “blogging tips” posts from blogs are bombarding me with: ‘PINTEREST IS THE UNTAPPED GOLDMINE OF BLOGGING’ and so I thought I better get around to it XD. Don’t worry, I’ll only do this awkward size when I plan to promote the post on Pinterest a lot ;D) (Pinterest for storyboards is pretty damn amazing, too!)

      Like

  3. OH MY GOD HOW ARE YOU SO GOOD AT DESIGNING TELL ME YOUR FABULOUS SECRETS

    but on another hand, YOU MET JAY KRISTOFF? he seems really cool and while I haven’t finished illuminae (ok but my brain needs to start getting capable of understanding all that space/fancy blueprints lingo), I’ve heard so many good things!

    I still can’t get over how amazingly talented you are at designing. ❤

    (and Pinterest seems so lovely but I'M SOO BAD AT IT #halp

    but i'm sure you and everyone else are going to be very happy with it)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. THANK YOU! I’m glad you liked the blog design 🙂 (I have a graphics tutorial coming up soon but it’s going to take a while coz it’s incredibly information dense – 6000 words in 6 separate posts!)

      Jay Kristoff is REALLY cool 🙂 (And Illuminae does need a bit of time to settle, yeah)

      (HOW CAN YOU BE BAD AT PINTEREST?? IT’S BASICALLY THE LOVECHILD OF GOOGLE AND INSTAGRAM! XD)

      Like

What do you think? Let me know!

