Nimona: A REALLY, REALLY Good Comic Book. Period.

I’ve seen Nimona around on the blogosphere for a while now, but didn’t get a chance to pick it up until I stumbled across is at my local library.

The first thing I noticed – and probably the only shortcoming the book had for me – was the art style. Drawn in a very simplistic way, each panel was roughly the same size. This meant that each scene – whether they were just eating dinner or someone was getting killed – was delivered in a similar fashion with the same weight. I would have enjoyed the book even more if there had been more variance in the panel sizes – a few full page spreads would have done wonders. (WONDERS, YA HEAR ME?)

c684d86eb965846163261f4f6ec7e1ef

But apart from that, the book was just perfect.

Nimona, oh Nimona. She wasn’t stick-thin. She wasn’t model-like beautiful. She wasn’t perfect and graceful and elegant. She was flawed. She had a wacky shaved haircut (plus, she died it purple. Because she’s bad-ass like that) and a normal sized body – normal not by comic book character standards, but normal by reality’s standards. (Can I get a cheer for imperfect characters?)

She was vibrant, full of energy and just so, so endearing – one of the most enjoyable characters I’ve read about in a long time.

But while Nimona was the main character, the supporting characters were far from being JUST supportive characters. They had flaws and characteristics and were protagonists (or antagonists) in their own right. (Plus, the name Goldenloin. Hah).

In terms of plot, the book left little to be desired. It was dramatic. It was well paced. It was engaging. It was also pretty depressing at times. But hey, aren’t most good books like that? *cries in corner*nimona-banner

Also, the ending is one of those ambiguous endings that is actually done well enough so it doesn’t leave you like: ‘SO WHAT HAPPENED IN THE END???! ARGHHHH. I WANT TO STAB SOMETHING’. Satisfactory, but still fairly open. The things around you still remain completely whole, I assure you.

TLDR; So yeah. In terms of writing, plot, characters, backstory, scene, detail – A+. The only thing I have here is I would have enjoyed some variety in panel sizes. Toodooloo.


The graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it “a deadpan epic.”

Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive, sharply irreverent epic from Noelle Stevenson. Featuring an exclusive epilogue not seen in the web comic, along with bonus conceptual sketches and revised pages throughout, this gorgeous full-color graphic novel is perfect for the legions of fans of the web comic and is sure to win Noelle many new ones.bd3cec0b220eae4994f0c19bfa8f0f0d

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

19351043

Goodreads Β  / Β  The Book Depository

Rating: 4.5/5

23 thoughts on “Nimona: A REALLY, REALLY Good Comic Book. Period.

  1. Pingback: Books And Life And The World In General (AKA I’ve-Given-Up-Coz-It’s-So-Not-Weekly Recap) – The Galaxial Word

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury

    I WANT TO READ THIS. VERY BADLY. But my library doesn’t have it #rude so I am bascially in suffering here. It’s all very tragic honestly. *sighs*

    (Omg and may I just say the banners you make for your posts are INCREDIBLE.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I quite liked Nimona. I thought the twist on good v. evil was clever and rather thought-provoking. I recently read Lumberjanes #1, which is also by Stevenson, and while I enjoyed it, it didn’t compare to Nimona. Still worth a read though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is easily my favourite graphic novel that I’ve read so far! I usually don’t care about the characters that much when it comes to graphic novels because they’re so quick so I don’t grow attached, but Nimona was the exception because of how quirky and spontaneous she is! Completely agree with your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really like graphic novels, and I’ve read a whole bunch, so I’ve got a little more of a scope to compare with, but Nimona definitely makes it amongst the top 15. Nimona herself was the star to of the book, and I completely agree, I love how quirky and spontaneous she was as well πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Gah! You really do need to read Nimona. I reckon you’d like it! It’s quite different to manga – especially with the art style and the almost consistent panel sizing (which would probably be annoying to me and you as manga readers, especially coz I love the double page manga spreads.)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I read manga on my phone so double spreads are pretty annoying 😦 But I do find them pretty! I’ve always, always wanted to read a graphic novel (and I’m SUPER excited to read Saga, assuming I’ll get it. Or Hawkeye volume 1. The cover is simply asdfghjkl)

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Gah! Double spreads are really annoying in digital format – I find reading manga on a phone just annoying in general. The screen is too small to read if you don’t zoom, so you have to squint, and I can’t be bothered zooming! T_T

          Like

  5. I loved Nimona!! It was the second graphic novel I had ever read and I wish there was another one to follow! I couldn’t put it down!! -There is a very on my blog if you want to check it out – Totally agree with you, it was brilliant. Great review

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Agree with it all! I loved this one so much and Nimona herself was just too fantastic πŸ™‚ the graphic novel took a complete different turn to what I was expecting and I was so very pleasantly surprised! I couldn’t resist looking for something else by Noelle Stevenson (Lumberjanes) and it was great! Really recommend! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s so fun and great, you should definitely! HAHA, Faith and Sarah! Oh how much I miss those two! XD They said that exams are over and that they’ll be back in the groove of things soon so know I’m just about drooling over their blog in anticipation of a new post! Any sooner and I’ll just have to hunt down anybody with information πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

