The Elusive Productivity Ninja

It is not the biggest secret that I am not the most productive person out there. For example, I will spend hours writing blog posts/doing blog maintenance/reading and commenting on other blogs instead of doing my homework, and pass it off as “productive”, because I’m doing blogging – which is pretty good – even though I’m not doing schoolwork. Hence, I often find myself doing my work at 10pm the night before it’s due. No doubt many of you do the same (right? Right????). Enter: “How To Be A Productivity Ninja”

giphy2

This book does exactly what it promises. It teaches you how to be a productivity ninja. Whether or not you implement the methods presented is up to you.

While this book is most relevant to the average working adult, it’s still useful to anybody at all, and especially good for bloggers, or anybody who runs some sort of a website, business or both. There’s a really good chapter on procrastination, and another on email management, and the book would be worth buying for those two chapters alone. There’s also some other great stuff in the book too, so why not, I guess?

ryan-gosling-shrug

However, I found one fault in this book, and that was the way the information was delivered. I found the book far too wordy and stuffy for my liking, and while there is some absolutely priceless information, you have to almost dig for it, the amount of fluff surrounding it.

For example, he likes to explain things by doing it like this:

1) Signpost what he is going to say.

2) Say it

3) Explain it in detail.

4) Provide an example.

5) Expand on the example.

6) Provide a real life analogy

7) Set out an exercise

8) Explain the concept once more, and how to implement it in the exercise.

As you can probably tell, some parts of the book tend to loop back and the author repeats himself quite a lot.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-31750-1390413187-21
Like a perfectly looped gif

Disregarding the whole repetition and over-explanation, the book is actually amazingly useful, and I’ve already implemented a lot of the methods he has presented. Definitely worth spending a few bucks getting.


I received this book for no charge in exchange for an honest review.


In the age of information overload, traditional time management techniques simply don’t cut it when it comes to overflowing inboxes, ever-expanding to-do lists and endless, pointless meetings. Thankfully there is a better way: The Way of the Productivity Ninja.

Using techniques including Ruthlessness, Mindfulness, Zen-like Calm and Stealth & Camouflage you will get your inbox down to zero, make the most of your attention, beat procrastination and learn to work smarter, not harder.

Written by one of the UK’s foremost productivity experts, How to be a Productivity Ninja is a fun, accessible and practical guide to staying cool, calm and collected, getting more done, and learning to love your work again.

27180579

Goodreads   /   The Book Depository

Rating: 3.5/5

14 thoughts on “The Elusive Productivity Ninja

  1. Pingback: Books And Life And The World In General (AKA I’ve-Given-Up-Coz-It’s-So-Not-Weekly Recap) – The Galaxial Word

  2. Oi! When I saw your post, I was like, “Oh look, a productivity post! Maybe there might be tips!”
    I did not expect a book review. O_O Seriously, I didn’t.
    (Productivity? Pfft, what is productivity even?)
    “Using techniques including Ruthlessness,” Okay I found this line very funny for some reason and idk why, but it sounds painful also? I’m generally not a fan of self help books so I’ll stay away from this! But your review was nice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice review! I have found the same problem when I read books on organizing, they tend to loop the steps over and over, almost like they think you started reading in the middle of the book or something!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only read very few self-help/organising/productivity books here and there so I haven’t much past experience, but that was definitely the case with this book. I think the problem is that there’s only so much you can talk about before you start to run out of material – and so they loop it over and over again to pump up the word count. Annoying, because some of the information can be really quite good. Thanks for dropping by, Kara!

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

