Why Six Of Crows Was Good, But Very, Very, Exhausting

It seems like I’m always running behind when it comes to fandoms and hyped books – I only got round to reading this last night – but I assure you, I stayed up until 1:07am doing so.

This book is good. Let’s put it that way. It’s very good. Well written, nicely paced and an exciting read altogether – but it’s very, very exhausting.

tumblr_nr4ikxbdt11rs0b4vo2_r1_1280

The majority of the second half of the book – that’s about 200 pages – is dedicated to one, big fight. One big mission, where the plot is just so complicated, it needs 200 pages to completely unravel. In terms of scale, this book is MASSIVE. It’s incredibly detailed, and at times, overly detailed – which can be both a curse and a blessing.

But, for now, let’s go back to the beginning.
At the beginning, the book is slow. There’s no way around it. The info dumping is dense, and could have potentially been crippling in the hands of a less experienced writer. Fortunately, Bardugo manages to spread out all this information over a few hundred pages – and while it’s still incredibly dense, it’s not devastatingly confusing.

tumblr_nr4ikxbdt11rs0b4vo5_r1_1280

At times, though, it still felt as though I was memorising them – “Okay, so this refers to this, and this refers to this. Remember that. It’s probably going to be important later on”. Once you get into the thick of the action, though, the info dumping stops and the book picks up to breakneck pace.

I didn’t like the characters. Mostly because they were defined by one trait. It’s not that they weren’t realistic – they were incredibly 3D, and leapt off the page – it’s just that they were so single traited. Kaz was the brooding, silent, incredibly smart criminal mastermind who has a tragic past. Inej is the girl who looks like she’s really weak, but turns out to be a silent assassin. Nina is the psychic girl who has incredibly potential. Jesper is the deadly accurate gunner. Wylan is the frightened boy who grows throughout the course of the novel.

tumblr_nr4ikxbdt11rs0b4vo4_1280

Out of all the characters, I felt that Matthias was the only one who wasn’t playing a role. He doesn’t exactly fit into a set definition, which the other characters did.

But I can see why Bardugo has created such a single talented group of people – it allows the reader to choose their favourite. It’s almost like a game where you pick a character. You know those games where there are a selection of characters – mage, warrior or scholar? And you inevitably pick the one you want to be. For me, it was Inej. Silent, unseen, deadly assassin. For others, it will be Kaz – unflinching, proud, deadly criminal mastermind. Each character appeals to a different reader, and I can guarantee you that almost every single person to read this character has chosen “their” person

So, for me, the characters – while being developed extremely well, and being very, very 3 dimensional  -still felt more like game characters than novel characters.

But all in all, even with all the info dumping and character genericness, Six of Crows still gets a four – purely for entertainment factor.

tumblr_nr4ikxbdt11rs0b4vo3_1280


Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

23437156

Goodreads   /   The Book Depository

Rating: 4/5

tumblr_nr4ikxbdt11rs0b4vo7_1280
Illustrations by the uber talented Kevin Wada – click this image to visit his page!
20 thoughts on “Why Six Of Crows Was Good, But Very, Very, Exhausting

  1. Pingback: Books And Life And The World In General (AKA I’ve-Given-Up-Coz-It’s-So-Not-Weekly Recap) – The Galaxial Word

  2. YES, YES, YES TO THIS. The book was definitely a bit dense at the beginning, but once you got past the infodumping in the beginning it became impossible to put down. And I loved the characters too – they were so complex, but I definitely see what you mean about them feeling a little like game characters. I am so glad you enjoyed this as much as I did! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Abby | ThePandaBookBlog.wordpress.com

    Do I have to read The Grisha Trilogy(?) before reading this book? I’ve heard that they are connected(?) or similar(?) in some way. I’ve read a lot of good reviews on this book and I actually want to start reading it but the thought of not reading the Grisha Trilogy terrifies me. I mean, would I be spoiled if I read this before the Grisha Trilogy?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read Shadow and Bone but I’ve heard lots of other bloggers talking about how Six of Crows was a far superior book to Shadow and Bone – I think you’d like it! (Also, if you like action, then you should definitely try out Matthew Reilly. Any one of his books.)

      Like

    1. It would probably make a perfect RPG

      Kaz – Brooding Criminal Mastermind. Moves: intimidation (decreases enemy attack power by 50%), manipulation (attacks enemy with their own weapon – 50% more effective than normal attack)

      Nina – Witch. Moves: heart attack (one hit move – must be charged over two moves). Heart rate rise (50% less accuracy)

      Inej – Assassin (Dodge – dodges all attacks. Dagger hit – 20% damage).

      And so on. I can’t be bothered doing the rest XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury

    I totally agree that it was exhausting. XD YUP. I actually only gave it 4 too, but I love love loooooved the characters, it was just I thought there was too mUCH in the book? Like if it’d just focused on 3 of the characters, that would be cool? But we got everyone’s complicated backstories and gahhh, too much. LESS IS MORE, PLEASE. Although I can’t really complain because I’m actually obsessed with this book and am going to re-read it before Crooked Kingdom. CRIMINAL EVIL BROODING CINNAMON ROLL MASTERMINDS. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OH MY GOSH. I have actually always had these feelings, which is why I never seemed to be able to re-read this book. I still REALLY loved this book, but I definitely agree – the characters do seem like those platforms where you pick your favorite avatar or superhero or whatever. At the beginning, I was pretty confused from the info dumping, but man, Leigh Bardugo is just very good. I am still a bit confused about the ethnicity labels (I think it was Suli)? I just really appreciated that the climax of the book was ACTUALLY big enough in comparison to the amount of time spent describing it. Most books build up so much tension to the climax, and it is like 50 pages? WHICH ISN’T GOOD. I like a lot of fleshed-out action! Anyway, lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I know right, if any other author wrote this, the info dumping would be so incredibly bad, I would put it down right there and then – but in the hands of this very capable writer, it’s bearable. Just.

      YOU KNOW WHAT YOU SHOULD READ? YOU SHOULD TRY AND GET YOUR HANDS ON A MATTHEW REILLY BOOK. They’re all basically Six of Crows without the pick-your-type character – ALL ACTION. LITERALLY. No sooner do they fall into the whale pit then there a bombs being thrown in too. And then, they get out. And the whales grow legs and run after them. Seriously. SO MUCH ACTION.

      Like

  6. I’m glad to hear you liked this book, and don’t worry, if you are late, I am EVEN later than you, because I didn’t read that one yet, hahaha. It sounds like a great read, but since I’m getting into fantasy a bit more only this year, that’s why I didn’t try. Anyway.
    I feel like the beginning could be a bit confusing with all the info, but I can’t wait to see what all this hype is about. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

