Why Yellow Brick War Was Mostly An Exercise In Futility

Ok. You guys remember the Dorothy Must Die series? It was one of the more popular spoofs on a classic back in 2014, and I did actually review it here.

To quote from my own review, I called Dorothy Must Die, “good but nothing groundbreaking”, and I feel like this applies perfectly here as well. Essentially, this series is starting to become a little tedious. It’s a little like the Divergent series. Once upon a time, the adventures of Tris and the gang were mildly interesting, but after they’ve split the last book into two movies, it’s become somewhat of a chore to sit through.

In a similar vein, the Dorothy Must Die series is starting to feel like a money grabbing cash cow. I don’t want to be rude or offensive, or say that the writing is bad – indeed, I quite enjoyed the writing – but after numerous prequels, sequels, novellas, e-books, extras, etc, I’m getting a little sick of it. There’s really only so much Paige can do with the world of Oz before it gets old.

Originally, intended to be published in 2017, this book was changed to be published in 2016, and probably as a result of the rushed date, it’s only 280 pages long, which is bordering on yet another novella. It feels almost exactly like a movie that has been split into two parts and yep! There’s a fourth book.

Amy has changed a lot, which is both good and bad. Bad because she’s turned into a family hating bitch that – sorry – I just can’t get behind. Good because she’s changed, and that means the series is going somewhere.

The first quarter of the book was interesting enough, but after that, it felt like filler and more filler. The writing got progressively more rushed and it felt sort of sloppy to read.

If you’re set on reading the whole this series, then I would definitely recommend you read Dorothy Must Die, which is enjoyable, at least. In my opinion, this series should have condensed book two and book three into one book, rather than creating two short novels with lots of filler. Unless the fourth book contains crucial plot development, the whole thing could say everything that needs to be said in two books.

So yeah, I’m a little disappointed at this book, and I don’t think I’ll be reading book four. With so much filler and such rushed writing, it just feels like a largely time wasting exercise.


Thank you to Harper Collins for the review copy!


In this dark, action-packed third book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, Amy Gumm—the new girl from Kansas—must do everything in her power to save Kansas, kill Dorothy, and make Oz a free land once more.

Amy Gumm’s mission to take down Dorothy Gale is not going according to plan. Dorothy has found a way to bridge the worlds of Oz and Kansas, and if the power-hungry dictator of Oz has her way, Kansas will be destroyed forever. Now, Amy has to team up with the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to save her home, restore the balance between the magic and nonmagic worlds, maybe get the guy—and kill that not-so-sweet Kansas farm girl once and for all.

In the third installment of the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, Danielle Paige’s twisted versions of beloved Oz characters are back, including the biggest, baddest, most famous of all: the Wicked Witch of the West.

Welcome to the other side of the rainbow. Here there’s danger around every corner, and magic shoes won’t be able to save you

18602406

Goodreads   /   The Book Depository

Rating: 2/5

21 thoughts on “Why Yellow Brick War Was Mostly An Exercise In Futility

  1. Pingback: Books And Life And The World In General (AKA I’ve-Given-Up-Coz-It’s-So-Not-Weekly Recap) – The Galaxial Word

  2. I didnt read Dorothy Must Die yet !! So I havent read all your review in details but the money grabbing cash cow makes me laugh so hard I had to comment HAHA ❤ I like the straightforwardness actually 😀 – Trang

    Liked by 1 person

      1. haha I read the sentence “if you have nothing else to do” and was like “nope”- I’ve got such limited time at the moment so I don’t think it’s for me right now- maybe in the future when/if I suddenly have loads of time on my hands again- thanks for the tip! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay, I’m confused, which part of the series is this book? Second, fourth? I’m a confused chicken.
    I haven’t read this series (and I’m not interested either, Once Upon A Time does plenty of wonders with Oz (Once Upon A Time is a tv show, btw). Even if a book has plenty of short novels/novellas/prequels I tend to skip them all?
    Divergent, on the other hand, was something I liked, until I read Insurgent. I felt like throwing the book while I was reading it! Months later, I read Allegiant and after reading the first page, I was like, who are these people? I had totally forgotten most of the characters by then 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Erm, this is the third major book. There are about 50 billion other novellas as well (fine, it’s more like 5 but STILL). Same, I tend to skip novellas that are tack ons to the stories as well. It gets pretty exhausting reading all of that.

      YES. This series is so like Divergent. Book one: quite enjoyable! A good time killer. Book two: erm, okay? Book three: Puts book down.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your comparison to the Divergent series – it is so accurate and on point. Both series are really entertaining and action-packed, but, on the other hand, neither of them adds anything especially new to the genre. Sorry that this felt a little unoriginal to you, but I’m glad you enjoyed it regardless. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Zoe! I’m glad you enjoyed the review 🙂

      Another comparison I have with the Divergent series – and this one applies especially to the movie – is the fact that a lot of the scenes feel unnecessary. I mean, if a director splits a movie into two parts, then that’s only to make money, and it almost feels like they’ve split the book that was meant to be released in 2017 into two parts so that they can churn another out in 2016.

      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

      Like

  5. I’ve only read the first book (which I didn’t enjoy so much) but my sister did (shucks, her face when I told her it wasn’t for me made me feel kind of really bad) and she’s excited for this one. Like you, she wasn’t one all for the prequels and all that jazz, it kinda got a little too much at one stage because the first and second book were great and then her interest just waned when it came to the short stories.

    Can I just say GREAT REVIEW? (or would you prefer: EXTRAVAGANT or PERFECT) Because darn if I could right like this I could rule the world (which kind of makes me beg the question: why have you not already?) *sucks out your writing power and eats it* Wishing you luck, hopefully your next book won’t represent a money grabbing cow so much 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, you’re lucky to have only read the first book, because that’s probably the only one that I would ever consider reading again! And of course, after 5 extra novellas, it starts to become a little exhausted, even a fan like your sister XD

      THANK YOU!! Don’t worry, I’ve worked out a deal with the devil, I’m only sacrificing three goats now, rather than five. It’s a bargain!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aha yeah, I don’t think I’m going to go on with it and my sister has just admitted some of her more negative feels for the book series (which shocked me so hard I though I was a thunderbolt). Ha, she agrees the first really was the best one 🙂 But wow, how is there so many books?! I’m still trying to wrap my head around what is being written and how much of it is :O

        Damn, three goats? That’s what? 40% off? THAT IS A BARGAIN. Sadly books have stolen my goats and I cannot afford such a brilliant masterpiece of writing. *sighs* One day.

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

