Books And Life And The World In General – AKA The Kinda Weekly Recap

So! I’ve decided to write weekly recaps. Except they probably won’t be weekly. It’s likely that they’ll be monthly but if I do monthly recaps then I’ll have to post them at the start of every month and that’s too predictable for my sporadic posting-ness 😄 So here we are, smack bang on Monday, doing a weekly recap that includes things from way further than a week ago. Meh.


On the blog

So this week/month-in-general has been so pathetic in terms of blogging. I’ve literally posted three posts in 25 days. THREE. I usually get around 7 or 8 a month but April is wrapping up and I’ve only gotten four including this one ◔̯◔

I started this month with my review of Thanks for the Trouble on April the 4th.

thanksforthetrouble

I then followed that up with my review of Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda on the 16th of April, a full 12 days after (ಥ﹏ಥ)

Simon Review Header

Only two days after Simon, I posted a post talking about how I had become an affiliate for The Book Depository and Grammarly.

Header Money Image

And that’s literally it. That’s all that was posted on the blog this month. WAAAAH T_T


Other TGW News

On Insta… (ONE post)

An Instagram photo from @thegalaxialword. Click through to read the rest of the weekly(ish) recap

So because I use Instagram from my iPad, and because I don’t use it nearly as much as I should, I didn’t hear about the whole Instagram nuking their algorithm, etc, thing until a few weeks after it had passed.

For those who don’t know, or don’t have Instagram, photos used to be sorted in feed in chronological order, so if someone posted something a second ago, it would show up right at the top of your feed. Now, it’s sorted due to popularity, which means a photo with 1000 likes will show up higher than a photo with 10.

This means that it’s much harder for smaller accounts to gain any traction, simply because their photos aren’t showing up in the feed. You can counter this by turning on notifications for an account, which means you just get an alert every time that person posts.

If you guys have Insta and like my photos, please turn on notifications for me! I post super infrequently, and because I only have 180 followers, it’s likely you won’t see my photos if you don’t, unless you liked the majority of my photos. Thank yahhh! *hug attack* ༼ つ ◕ヮ◕ ༽つ

And I just joined Pinterest! This is moi:

Pinterest image

So I only have three boards at the moment, “Blog Posts” (posts from the blog), “Book Blogs I Love” (pinned images from blogs that I particularly like) and “Book Blogger Share” which is a group board I recently joined where I can pin images and connect with other book bloggers. I’m really loving Pinterest, and I would definitely recommend you get it!

Do you have Pinterest already? Drop me a link below so I can follow you! Keep an eye out on my boards too, I might pin one of your posts ^.~

Another thing that just happened today is the possibility of a collab post! I was talking to Faith (I think?) at Sublime Reads and we were discussing perhaps doing something where we could get together a few different bloggers and hold something, perhaps a blog tour or something? If you’d like to be part of it, please comment below! Make sure you mention if you have any ideas for what we could do, too!


More Posts

Yay, we got to my favourite bit, which is basically just where I highlight a whole bunch of posts from other bloggers that I saw this week that I really loved:


And so that’s basically it for my very first not so weekly recap! Don’t forget to pop me a comment if you’d like to join me and Sublime Reads on our very fantastic book bloggy adventure (~˘▾˘)~

17 thoughts on “Books And Life And The World In General – AKA The Kinda Weekly Recap

  1. I’ve thought about doing recaps but I’m quite famous for being lazy? *nervous laughter*
    Honestly though, don’t stress out over the number of posts you write. You’ve got a life outside blogging, deal with it! And Pinterest, I love. Before i joined it, I was like, it’s boring but now, I’m super addicted to it! *glares at it*
    I’m so ready for the collab! 🙂 I don’t have any ideas now though, blame it on eleventh grade being so monotonous and booooring. Also add sleepy to that list. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know you can never be too sure but yes, you were talking to me. BUT WAIT – WHO AM I?! Mwahahaha *pulls off mask and reveals… whatever masks reveal beneath their innocent exterior*

    Oh lala you’ve got Pinterest! But tbh I’m low key stressing out because I’m totally not updated with social media. So since you’ve posted I guess I have to Insta post too… BUT IT’S SO MUCH WORK. *continues dragging some random corpse across the Sahara desert while one-handedly typing this uber pointless comment in hopes of some sort of response*

    Also – thanks for your shareeeeee ^-^
    (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ (Making use of dem emoji thingies haha)

    ~ Some random person whom you do not know because, ahem, I’m random

    Liked by 1 person

      1. AHHHHHHHHHH THERE IS SO MUCH HOW DO YOU DO IT PAUL WHAT IS YOUR SECRET??? Tell moi please. I’M A FAILURE. Ten billion social medias will be the death of me. First of all, passwords. How do you remember them all? Secondly, ain’t nobody got time to update all da time.Third, I’m not too sure if anyone knows this word but it’s four letters, starts with an “L” and ends with a “Y” and has the letters “A, Z” in the middle. And it’s me. ಠ_ಠ I don’t know how to Pinterest. You like, pin things? Heh.

        YAY EMOJIS ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ \ (•◡•) / ~(˘▾˘~) (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧ I knowwww, I’ve realized the same thing.

        BY THE WAY partner in crime, what’s the plan for the collab thing? I mean, any thoughts now that we kind of know who’s interested? The main thing I’m wondering about is how we’re going to put a post together with multiple bloggers interacting? Also, thanks for totally CRASHING OUR TERRITORY. 😄 Pshhh we know how to answer our comments… WANNA FIGHT?? *mega glares with squinty eyes*
        (ง ͠° ͟ل͜ ͡°)ง Ahem, I mean yes, thanks for the help hehe. ʕ•ᴥ•ʔ

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Passwords is sooper dooper easy. I just use the exact same password for every single thing I sign up for. Even if I visit a website and it looks familiar and it turns out that I’ve been there and signed up years before, I can generally just input the exact same email and password and that’ll work 😄 FOOLPROOF!

          AND YES. I AM LAZY TOO. When I’m in a productive mood, I just schedule heaps of tweets and posts. And then when I’m lazy, I just post them. FOOLPROOF 😄

          And also I have NO IDEA WHAT SHOULD WE DO T_T T_T

          Hehe 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yoooooooooooo mega thanks for bringing me one step closer to hacking your WP account! 😛

            I’M SO LAZY IT SHOULDN’T BE A LEGAL THING. See, I’m procrastinating now! Legit all my blog posts are a culmination of my procrastination. And when I actually have time to write up a post, I’d procrastinate from that. *face palms*

            I’ve got an idea! Since we don’t know what to do… WE CAN DO NOTHING LIKE THE LAZY BUMS WE ARE!!! FOOLPROO- okay, yeah. Howww do you do dis. Let’s plan it on email or something. Sarah and I have some ideas so we were thinking that maybe we could share a Google Docs with you if you have a gmail or something? I guess you respond with your email or just email ours with it? (sublimereads@gmail.com)
            So dw WE GOTCHU. We got US. Not really. We have something which is better than nothing. So email us if you can! ^-^

            Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: ANNOUNCEMENT: Hear Ye!

  4. Just wanted to pop in and say your blog posts are always enjoyable and funny! And don’t worry about not posting as much this month. Life happens. And laziness…I should know. I always scold myself to post more but it still takes me forever to put up a review or fill out a tag. Either way, keep up the good work! And I love love love your One Punch Man graphics. I just recently re-watched it and am impatiently waiting for the second season. xD

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Laziness is definitely the biggest bitch.

        And oh, nice! I’m awful at keeping up with manga…^^; I can barely keep up with anime. I usually just wait until the whole season is finished then binge watch it. I’ve been meaning to get back into reading manga but have been distracted by other books and shows. There’s just too much to read and watch …T_T

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury

    Yayyy for recaps! I always think they’re fun. ;D And omg thanks for sharing my post. I AM HONOURED. *flails*
    I’ve heard about instagram being awful with their changing algorithms and everything, but it honestly hasn’t affected me yet? And because my iPod is like super old it doesn’t even HAVE the option for an update. :O So I just have no idea what to do. hehhhh. *gulps* I’m trying not to freak out about it. But it sucks when they do stuff like this and smaller accounts suffer. D:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha same with me! I don’t really update my iPad that much and so I heard about it but didn’t really investigate it until I actually updated 😄 And even though it’s good in the sense that you’re not getting all the photos that you usually pass by in your feed, it’s bad for the people who are posting the images you usually pass by D:

      Like

  6. Here’s to more regular wrap ups from you then!
    I like the idea of the collab post. If you do consider it count me in (lets hope i can contribute something interesting)
    I enjoyed the part about the posts you loved from other bloggers, I always wanted to do it but Im just too damn busy and lets not forget lazy.
    Well hope you do more blog posts…

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

