I finally got a ticket to board the Simon train

Is it too late to jump on the Simon train? Probably. Am I going to do so anyway? You bet I am.

ezgif.com-reverse.gif
I tried to find a gif of Tris jumping ONTO a train, rather than OFF, but all I found was this – so I just reversed it. It turns out that when you reverse a gif of someone jumping a train, it looks like the train is sucking them in like some kind of trainy black hole. AND IT’S TRUE PEOPLE. THE SIMON TRAIN SUCKS YOU IN. I warn you now.

Guys, guys, guys, guys, guys, GUYS! This book was so incredibly cute and happy (wow, Paul, haven’t heard that before). Despite the whole blackmail thing, the book manages to keep you smiling the whole way through. My cheeks are so sore, I feel like Alvin from Alvin and the Chipmunks. Or should I say… Simon. (ooooh! Unintentional but totally intentional pun!)

giphy.gif

I really don’t have anything to fault with this book, and unless you are some kind of blogosphere Grinch (and I have nothing against Grinches, but ya know, maybe this book will melt your ice heart?), I have no doubt that this book will make you laugh and smile.

rs_498x241-141217151555-TheGrinch.gif

Simon is an incredibly real character. On the list of “Book Characters That Are Basically Real People”, he gets prime ranking very very close to the top, and as Adam Silvera has said on Goodreads:

Capture.PNG

The ship. Oh my God. The ship is real.

anigif_enhanced-7764-1411410786-12

I have to say, I loved the ending so much, and the grand reveal was just so incredibly, you can probably hear me combusting in delight all the way from Canada.

The family and friendships are so damn amazing in this book. You know that big, supportive family that never happens in books – because we always get dysfunctional families where the dad is an alcoholic and abusive, and the mother is on drugs? Or a family that just hates the kid so much? Well, finally, FINALLY, we have a book with a great, loving family that I just want to smush.

let me love you gif.gif

Yay or happy families, and yay for happy endings where nobody is murdered (because this isn’t one of those hideous books where everybody dies and the authors cackle their heads off. It’s a Happy Ending Book. Hear that?? HAPPY ENDING. *gasp* No way!

And also, the diversity I this book is so amazing. Sexual orientation and race are both quite major themes in the book (the main character is gay, hullo?) and the fact that all those good points is rolled into one little bundle of joy makes me want to scream. Which I will very well go ahead and do so now.

tumblr_inline_o21mr9LFfs1r5dfl8_500


Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. 

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707

 Goodreads   /   Book Depository

Rating: 4.5/5

23 thoughts on “I finally got a ticket to board the Simon train

  1. Pingback: Books And Life And The World In General – AKA The Kinda Weekly Recap – The Galaxial Word

  2. FINALLLLLLLLYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
    THIS CANADIAN IS HAPPY TO HEAR YOU! Now, maybe, Faith will finally pick this book up. Wasn’t it AMAZING? AND ADORABLE? IT WAS SO WELL DONE ❤ ❤ ❤
    And this review is great XD I completely agreed with every gif you put in 😛
    Now, are you planning on reading Aristotle and Dante discover the Secrets of the universe? Because that was adorable as well :3
    Anyways, keep calm and TOTALLY JUMP THE SIMON TRAIN XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen Aristotle around, but haven’t read it yet. I didn’t know that it was LGBT! (Assuming it is, because you’re replying in response to Simon). I thought it was some super dystopian sci fi slash super deep philosophical novel. Whoops. DEFINITELY GOING TO GET ROUND TO IT SOON.

      Like

  3. Your caption for the train GIF made my day – LOL.

    And yeah! So glad you read this! (Better late then never, right?) Glad you ended up enjoying it as much as I did. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YES, YOU’RE ON THE HYPE TRAIN ALSO! This is one of my favourite book of all time and THE FEELS. THE MYSTERY. Also, I have a slight obsession with gay characters and gay books? *laughs nervously*
    That header receives a 11/10. And you can reverse a gif? In photoshop, right? I’ve been struggling to learn how to use gifs, especially those textures that are quite common in tumblr. I’ve seen 166879 tutorials for it but NONE OF THEM MADE SENSE. *wails in eternal despair*
    That being said, I really, really love your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES THE FEELS AND THE TRAIN AND THE BOOK AND SIMON AND EVERYTHING IS SO AMAZING *capslock intensifies*

      Oh and uhm you may be trying to hard. I just popped “gif reverser” into Google and clicked on the first link. And it worked perfectly. And what are these texture thingies they sound COOL.

      THANK YOU! GLAD YOU LIKED IT!! (the review + the header :D)

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Aaah like a double exposure. I’ve done photos of these before in Photoshop so I imagine it’ll just be clipping mask, copy layer, make it monochrome and turn down the opacity to about 30% to get shadows? And then do that over and over again for each gif frame -.-

          Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s never too late to board that train 😀 Great review, I felt exactly the same way about this book. I just had a massive smile on my face the entire time I was reading it. And I loved the family dynamic too – it was so refreshing! I need more happy books like this in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YAY! WElcome aboard!! 😀 As you can see from the picture I use as avatar and profile picture EVERYWHERE, I have a “mild” love for this book myself. Oh who am I kidding? This is my favorite book of ever and seeing someone love it warms my heart and possibly makes me happier than Becky herself.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

