Why Thanks For The Trouble Made My “Love” List

NB: I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Simon and Schuster!


Here is a durian fruit:

Screenshot-2013-12-08-00.22.57
Not yummy

It is stinky. It is spiky. It is unloved by the inhabitants of Earth and other planets all over our great universe.

It is my firm belief that everyone is born a durian fruit. Now, you might be asking, “Just where on Earth is this post going?” And you truly have a right to do so. But stick with me for a second.

There are certain things you need to do to graduate from the status of durian fruit to human – or whatever you are destined to be, whether it be fig tree or bread stick. One of those things is donate all of your money to the extremely worthy cause of my wallet. Failing that, you should read this book.

Delightfully funny, and filled to the brim with surprisingly philosophical and profound moments, Thanks for the Trouble is a bomber of a book that deserves your complete and undivided attention.

Enter Parker. Parker does not speak, but steals. Parker does not talk, but writes.

Enter Zelda. Zelda is young, but old. Zelda is beautiful, and strange in a way that would be described as “mysterious” as opposed to “creepy”.

One fuddled theft and two coffees later, the two are now acquaintances, and set out on an adventure to spend a huge sum of cash, and in the process, find their own lives again.

Reading this book is an investment. It’s an investment, because from the moment you read the first paragraph, the book pulls you in without the need for guns or action, blood or murder. It invariably sucks you into the story from the second you pick it up to the second you are forced to put it down, with little words wasted and even less unnecessary scenes. In such a thin book, every paragraph is precious, and so much can happen in the space of two pages, or three. Thanks for the Trouble is a quick read that will open up a whole new world for a criminally short time, shutting it down before you even get a chance to get your feet wet.

The characters contribute to about 90% of this book’s loveability. Parker was flawlessly flawed and Zelda… well, she was Zelda, and you will never truly understand how much she sprung out of the writing and into your imagination until you read this book.

His mother, who was featured much less, was developed just as much as the two main characters. The same goes for Alana, and the other background characters. Wallach simply has the most beautiful method of writing people into real life – because they aren’t simply book characters anymore. They become people.

The beginning was beautiful. The ending was heart shattering. The middle was one hell of a journey. Read it, because after all, nobody wants to be a durian.


“I’ve got some questions for you. Was this story written about me?”

I shrugged.

“Yes or no?”

I shrugged again, finally earning a little scowl, which somehow made the girl even more pretty. It brought a bloom to her pale cheeks and made sharp shelves of her cheekbones.

“It’s very rude not to answer simple questions,” she said.

I gestured for my journal, but she still wouldn’t give it to me. So I took out my pen and wrote I can’t on my palm.

Then, in tiny letters below it, I finished the thought: Now don’t you feel like a jerk?

Parker Santé hasn’t spoken a word in five years. While his classmates plan for bright futures, he skips school to hang out in hotels, killing time by watching the guests. But when he meets a silver-haired girl named Zelda Toth, a girl who claims to be quite a bit older than she looks, he’ll discover there just might be a few things left worth living for.

Thanks-For-The-Trouble-672x1024

Goodreads   /   Book Depository

Rating: 5/5

29 thoughts on “Why Thanks For The Trouble Made My “Love” List

  1. Pingback: Annoying Characters, But Great Writing… I’m So Torn! – The Galaxial Word

  2. I really want to read this book!! I really loved Wallach’s first book, so I’m hoping this one will be just as good. I’ve heard so many good things about all the characters, and although the synopsis doesn’t jump out at me as “YOU WILL LOVE THIS”, I know I need to read it. Especially because you love it! Also, it has a yellow spine (my favourite colour of book spine). What more convincing do I need? 😀

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury

    Ohhh, so I get the VAGUE impression that you liked this one a little? ;D hehe Okay, confession: I did read it but I wasn’t a fan. I didn’t like Zelda’s motivations and I felt kind of despondent at the end? Like I wasn’t sure what the point of it all was? I did SO like Parker though! HE WAS ADORABLE AND HE WAS A WRITER AND HIS WORDLESSNESS WAS SO WELL DONE.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Ultimate Game of Thrones Tag | the orang-utan librarian

  5. My entire family, including my grandma, my grandpa, my parents, my aunts and uncles and my cousins LOVE durian. Well, everyone except for my sisters and me. So it’s not very comforting to find out that I was born a durian, and won’t be elevated to the status of human until I read this book. Or give you money, but let’s face it, I’m a broke college student and have no money. Anyway, this is a great review! I’ll definitely add it to my TBR list, and maybe I can be a human soon 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think I must be the only durian on this earth to like durians. I mean look at that cute-looking, spiky, weirdly-lumpy fruit. DELICIOUS (even if it does stink up the car TERRIBLY on a hot day).

    UGH ANOTHER BOOK HAS BEEN ADDED TO MY TBR which means less money to be in my pocket and less money being able to give to you in order to become human (but I mean, I quite enjoy embracing my inner fruit). WHAT SORCERY DO YOU ZAP INTO YOUR REVIEWS? HOW ARE THEY SO BEJENCKEOWJDNFNDKKEF AMAZING?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hiraeth… it’s okay. It’s okay to like durians.

      EXCEPT IT’S NOT. RELEASE THE PIGS.

      Ahem.

      Yes. If you fail at being human, then you must embrace your inner fruit.

      Thank you! I’m glad you liked it! Sorcery? What sorcery? Does SELLING YOUR SOUL TO THE DEVIL AND SACRIFICING THREE GOATS ON CRUCIFIXES IN EXCHANGE FOR A REVIEW SOUND LIKE SORCERY? It must.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. NOOOO NOT THE PIGS. It always brings me back to the memory of sticking my foot into a big squishy mess of pigs’ manure (it’s as fun as if sounds.) UGH DO YOU KNOW HOW LONG MY FOOT HAD TO BE CLEANED FOR IT TO FEEL DECENTLY CLEAN AGAIN.

        WOW. I read that sentence in a creepy, evil voice and now I’m scared of my own mind. SORCERY. I’m afraid it’s too late to turn back from here, CONTINUE WITH THE SORCERY AND GIVE US MORE AMAZING REVIEWS.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. AAHH THST SOUNDS HORRIBLE I’M SO SORRY YOU HAD TI ENDURE THAT *shudder* this is why I stay well away from farms and pigs unless I’m MURDERING SOMEONE. Ahem. More reviews to come 🙂 i haven’t done a discussion post in a while actually. Hmm. What’s a good topic.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. YOU HAVE NO IDEA. Wow, I don’t know whether to be horrified or slightly impressed. Murdering on the farm? You are taking MESSY MURDER to a new level. OOOOH YES TO DISCUSSION POST, I suck of thinking of topics, I CRY.

            Now I think is a good time to say that I find it VERY HARD to stop replying to comments. I APOLOGISE IN ADVANCE. Just ignore me (let’s give the murder part a rest for now) 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  7. DANG IT I’M A DURIAN FRUIT. I can’t believe I just read all of that only to find out now that MY ENTIRE LIFE has been a lie and that I’m spiky and smelly… THANKS FOR THE TROUBLE. #nightANDdaymares (Please tell me one of the characters said, “I knew you were trouble when you walked in.” #copyrightinfringementstho)
    But also, NICE REVIEW. 😀 IT WAS GOOD and an enjoyable review to read!! As always, you just word things I’m incapable of wording. I’M A MESS OF A DISASTER. (In other words, you’ve got pretty killer writing skills and you could probably make me wanna read any book.) Near the end of this review, I was actually really liking it and getting into it but then I got to that last sentence and then I was like “…” “…” “…” NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO * falls to knees in terror and despair *

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I REALLY WANTED SOMEONE TO SAY “I KNEW YOU WERE TROUBLE WHEN YOU WALKED IN” BUT NOBODY DID IT WAS THE DOWNLIGHT OF MY DAY. Pah.

      This post was such a trainwreck omg. Like, DURIANS. Now that I read it again, I’m like, what was I on???

      (It’s okay. Embrace your inner fruit. READ THE BOOK)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Everyone: “I KNEW YOU (Sarah & Faith) WERE TROUBLE WHEN YOU BLOGGED INNNNNN, SHAME ON ME NOW.”

        I just. Wait. Hold up. What. So. You’re telling ME (the literal mistress of weird and awkwardly unprofessional blog posts) that this was a cray post. Danggg IF THIS IS A TRAINWRECK… WHAT EVEN IS MY LIFE??!! Reading our posts you must be like: WHAT ARE THEY EVEN ON EVERY DAY OF THEIR LIVES? XD But trust me (have faith in me), I’m sure everyone thought the whole durian thing was creatively amusing. I mean, SOMEONE out there has to like it.

        (I will become a fruit ninja.)

        Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

