5 Reasons Why Glass Sword Is A Disappointment (And 5 Reasons Why It Isn’t!)

Disclaimer: I was provided with a copy of this book by Hachette Australia in exchange for an honest review. (Thank you!)


The Plot Armour

The biggest flaw I found in this book was the plot armor. Despite Aveyard’s very happy-go-lucky attitude with epic battle scenes that certainly could have killed Mare, at no point did I feel scared for Mare’s life, and that’s because even when it seems certain that Mare is going to die, she always seems to be saved somehow, by her friends. Very rarely does she actually get her own way out of a situation.

She always gets beaten up a little and then someone swoops in and either teleports her out of the situation to safety, or comes in with an army and fights their way to Mare. This assurance of her non-death made it so hard to feel scared or thrilled in any of the epic battle scenes.

The Moral Dilemma

Mare, Mare, Mare, I liked you so much better in the first book when you just ran around electrifying people and running away without a thought in the world. Now, because you’re the queen of the rebellion, you’ve gone and somehow managed to develop some kind of “inner struggles” that forces you to stop and think about what you’re doing and if you’re becoming cruel and evil every thirty seconds.

To be honest, Mare, I could not care less if you become cruel and evil. Just do it without all this “moral dilemma” drama. You simply can’t save every single sad soul in the world.

The Characters

This is probably an “it’s me not you” kinda thing but I found it really hard to connect to the characters. A certain someone’s death didn’t really affect me at all, and I honestly connected to the secondary characters more than I connected to Mare. I dunno. It’s probably just me.

Mare's Lightning

Despite her lightning powers being described in a way that made them almost god-like, the only thing I saw her actually do with her power is be a human battery and kick start a jet. And then, as soon as she got into a fight, it turns out that if the captor wears rubber gloves, she’s basically powerless. Red Rising Book Three: Mare vs the Rubber Gloves.

Easily Killed Enemy

It seems like everybody who isn’t on Mare’s “side” dies incredibly easily. At one point, they kill one of the main antagonists and it was so casual that I completely missed it. It wasn’t until they were loading the body onto the plane that I realized he/she was dead. And even then, I was just expecting the body to stand up and start destroying everything. Alas, it didn’t happen and he/she remained as dead as a doornail.

The Writing Style

Now to the good points! I really like Aveyard’s writing style. The pacing is nice, and the reading is smooth.

Supporting Actors

This book introduces quite a lot of super, kickass secondary/supporting characters, such as the Newbloods (Reds who have “Silver” skills), including a woman called Nanni who can change her appearance at will (and damn, she may just me my favourite character in this book). A lot of authors tend to disregard secondary characters, or neglect them in favour of developing the main characters instead, but Aveyard’s done both, and the supporting characters are just as vibrant – if not more – as the main characters.

Story Development

Sometimes, stories that get trilogies tend to make the second a book a book of “filler” if the series is starting to peter out, and even though I feel like the series is starting to wrap up, I still appreciate the major plot development in this book. Far from simply a filler book, Glass Sword is a novel in its own right, so kudos for Aveyard for not being afraid to actually continue the book.

Love Interest

Yay! This book marks the end of the love triangle/square/rhombus/dodecagon! Instead, we’ve got a very interesting love aspect in Cal, that’s enough to add to the book but not enough to detract or distract from the main content of the book.

More Complex

Glass Sword has completely upped the stakes. The story is much for complex, and the stakes are lot higher. Glass sword reminds me a little of The ToG series, because the first book is pretty much pure entertainment with heaps of fighting and in a dystopian style. The second book starts to become more complex, with more oppression and rebellion and inner struggles (which, as I said get, start to get pretty damn annoying), and then it gets progressively more symbolic of the authoritarian and oppressive society the human race is slowly coming towards, etc. This can sometimes be a little stuffy, but I quite like the multiple layers of plot this book developed, and it’s definitely not stuffy.


Summary:

Although it can be a little annoying at times, Glass Sword is still a satisfactory installment to the Red Queen saga. Next, book 3!

GlassSword.1

Goodreads  /  Book Depository

Rating: 4/5


Did you like this post? Do me a favour and tweet about it! I’ve even prepared a tweet for you, so all you need to do is go ahead and click this little guy’s face right below 😛 Thank you so much!

tgw logo 3

20 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Glass Sword Is A Disappointment (And 5 Reasons Why It Isn’t!)

  1. OH MY GOD I HAVE FOUND MY SOUL MATE IN BLOGS (except i’m not as awesome and able to put thoughts into coherent sentences like you) AND YOUR REVIEW IS. EVERYTHING. I was going to write a review of this book, but then your review summed up EVERYTHING – EVERY SINGLE THING – that i was going to write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT but then I’m also kind of sorry because I know what it’s like to be like: UGH HOW DO I WORD ALL THESE WORDS and then comes along a post that perfectly sums up your opinions and you just feel like reposting that instead. PLEASE DO POST A REVIEW and don’t forget to drop me a link 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. muahahaha! So I have been waiting for your review on this because I needed to know I was not alone in the disappointment I felt about this book. I mean I loved book 1 that I was a bit too expectant for Glass sword.
    I fully agree with all the points you made in the review, and I guess the author was just using this to creat a bit of depth and set the stage for what will happen in book 3. There were times I almost gave up because of Mare’s annoying moral dilemma but hey I pressed on to see where it all led.
    I wanted more romance and yes, thank goodness that the love hexagon is over couldn’t understand how it lasted for that long or rather why Mare held on to it for that long. Great review! I like how you broke it down.
    On to book 3 we go!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YESSS THESE GRAPHICS XD
    I love your comment about the moral dilemma. Have you read The Young Elites? That’s a book I want to shake the moral dilemma out of. I honestly wish for more, honestly evil characters. Not conflicted, not acting… just horrible people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! (Trust me, you’ll get bloody sick of them very soon and then I’ll have to think up of a way to revamp it XD )

      Moral dilemma is good in small doses. When it just takes up pages and pages and pages and pages and pages of the book, it’s like: “Just kill the damned person and get over it already”.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

