Post número 100! I reveal a brand new blog theme (along with a fresh design)

You’ve been hit by… you’ve been struck by.. a smooth criminal a severe case of blogging-redesign-itis!

Hello! And welcome to the brand new look of the Galaxial Word. Take careful notice of the featured image up there ^ Coz you’ll be seeing a lot of images in that same style from now on.

“What do you mean, Paul?” I hear you say. Well, I’ve been looking for a nice, unique design style for a while, and so I’ve been messing around with a little bit of everything, really.

When I first started blogging (EXACTLY ONE HUNDRED POSTS AGO!), I was really influenced by Aentee over at Read At Midnight and I did heaps of watercolour and floral images. Later, I realised that this really wasn’t me, and so I ditched the floral but kinda kept the watercolour. Then I went into a little bit of a lapse, where I didn’t make images for many reviews.

Then I decided that I really like the header image for my Dear Reader post and thought that that would be the new style, all with super trendy flat images and no shadows. But it turns out that it’s really hard to find suitable images that are all in that same style, and anyway, all I’m actually doing is slapping some text on an image which I can’t really be proud of. So, three days and five hours of image sourcing later, we have this style! Let’s talk more about it…

The Graphic Style

I figured that I didn’t want super feminine designs despite the majority of my audience being female. But I also didn’t want a super “male” design since it would probably drive off the majority of my readers. I also really liked the idea of a diagonal colour split, which would split up the page a bit and add a bit of geometry.

So I’ve done a blend of everything that I love! There’s the touch of geometric, combined with the hand drawn style patterns, and then, of course the MANGA! I wanted to have a kind of image that I could put in each one, but something that I could vary, and I’ve found that manga is the absolute perfect style. It looks cute, it’s fairly easy to find, and I LOVE MANGA so it’s great.

Anyway, make sure you tell me in the comments below what you think of the new style and the theme!

The Theme

I used to use the Nucleare theme, then I changed over the Sela theme and I’ve had it ever since. I’ve lately realised that I didn’t particularly like the Sela theme; it seemed a little too cluttered and hard to navigate to me, so now I’m moving over to the Lovecraft theme, which I like because it’s very clean and everything is bright and white.

Plus, I can actually set whole images as featured images in Lovecraft which makes everything much easier, especially because the blog will feature a lot more graphics from now on.

One downside is the header image, though. Header images never work very well in many themes, because the websites have to be responsive, should you be viewing it on computer, tablet or phone. This means the header usually gets cropped or shrunk to fit the screen which will cut out various elements of the header. And it’s extremely frustrating but that’s what happens here too. I think the header is best seen from tablet, since that’s the format that cuts out the least.

Edit: I deleted the header entirely since it was bugging me so much. Working on it now!

And so yeah! Make sure to leave me a point about whether you like the new theme/graphics style, whether you think I should go back to Sela, if you have any thoughts or opinions! LET ME KNOW BELOW (ooh that rhymes.) Until next time, dear reader!

Thank you

20 thoughts on “Post número 100! I reveal a brand new blog theme (along with a fresh design)

  1. Such an awesome theme!! I really understand the pain of trying to find the right balance between feminine, and male-orientated to attract the most readers to your blog – I honestly think you nailed it!! I LOVE the manga *confetti showers*

    Glad I stumbled upon your little space on the Internet, will certainly be sticking around to see more!! *follows immediately and gorges self on content*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES NATSU AND MANGA DRAWINGS XD
    So *that’s* where you’ve been… not that I’ve been stalking or anything. I should probably stop with the creeping, but between you and me, it’s really fun 😉

    Anyways, I LURVE THIS NEW THEME. You and Aentee have entered my design goals. Although, its hard to find one theme that Faith and I will totally love. Compromise. It’s a thing XD
    I’m loving the header – and I can’t wait to see more of your art!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU SARAH! I know, I am so in love with this theme right now. The longer you look at it for, the better it gets XD The Sela Theme is so nice as well, but it was a little too cluttered for my taste, and everything was a bit all over the place. This is much cleaner and simple.

      Omg you need to aim higher than me! My graphics are barely anything to make a goal for (insert monkey covering eyes emoji – you know the one).

      I will have a review for Glass Sword up soon 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Alex

    OMG, THIS NEW LOOK IS FAB, PLEASE SAVE ME. *INTERNAL SCREAMING*
    Gosh, your graphics are good! And that header image is so cute! GAHHH!
    I liked your Nucleare theme actually. Sela was good too, but isn’t that so frequently used by book bloggers? This theme is rockin’! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AAAHHHH THANK YOU I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE IT!! I liked the Nucleare theme as well XD but the Sela drew me in because of the static home page. I really like this theme though, it has a very clean and simple look, and allows quite a lot of room for images, which Sela didn’t really do. And yeah, the Sela theme seems to be super popular amongst book bloggers. This one, not so much 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alex

        I’m actually kind of tired of seeing Sela. Even I was attracted by the static page when I was searching for a theme! But I didn’t know how to set it up so I used another theme instead. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting new look. I was soo used to the other theme you had and to be honest was mostly jealous of how fab your graphics looked. (you are my inspiration) ahem! I’ll stop gushing,
    But Im glad you found what suits you, that is what is more important. I look forward to seeing more awesome graphics and roll on blog post numero 200……

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A first milestone. 😀 Nice.
    While I’m a fan of floral and watercolour designs I like the more structured set-up of your new theme. I think it makes your graphic designs stand out more and makes for easier reading. 😀 Hope other readers think the same.

    You should always have your own thing on your blog, so changing it as you evolve as a blogger and reader is a good thing. I’ve done tons of redesigns myself but I’m on the lookout for something similar to the Oxygen theme, only with fewer collums (somehow trying to change the setup of the site always ends up in a mess – *is technically challenged*).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! This design definitely allows for sooper doper easy readability, so I don’t have to worry about whether it looks nice but isn’t even legible XD I’ve just had a look at the Oxygen theme and it looks like such a nice theme! And omg I agree I have like 0% computer skills 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  6. aentee @ read at midnight

    Glad you found an style that suited you better 🙂 I approve of the Fairy Tail chibi you included, Natsu is awesome and a worthy blog representative! Good luck with the blog going forward!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

