Feature: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger (Tag)

tgaerg
Image credit to Freepik.com

So I was tagged by Meyan over at Papers, Pens and Peridot to do the “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger” book tag, and seeing that I’ve only ever done one tag post before (the Liebster Award) and that was basically 50 million years ago, now seems like a good time to do a second one. Anyway. Let’s get it started!

How Long Have you Been A Blogger?

Uhh we’re just closing in on 7 months I think! Oh wait. Nup, it’s just over seven months. God that’s so much time.

At what point do you think you will stop?

I don’t know, but blogging is so fun and everybody is so amazing and kind, so I hope to say never! Or at least a very very very long time.

What is the best thing?

I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again. It is absolutely amazing to see how kind and great everybody is in the book community. Special shoutout to the Ever-Elusive-Faith and Polar-Bear-Wanting-Sarah over at Sublime Reads (you guys really encouraged me to step out of my shell and stop being so antisocial), the always amazing Sarah at Written Word Worlds (who actually got me into blogging in the first place. And btw you should definitely visit her YouTube channel) and the hilarious organic pineapple named Cait who blogs over at Paperfury (thank you so much for all the laughs on Twitter).

What is the worst thing?

The amount of TIME it takes to blog post. It literally takes me 2 hours or more to write every single blog post which is an absurd amount of time (I’ve got like 95 blog posts so that’s 190 hours of consistent sitting at the computer blogging away :O). I wish I could recite what I wanted and just have the computer type it automatically for me.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

Um it depends on the post. The Dear Reader post I did yesterday was really sooper doper easy coz I literally just took a picture off the internet, photoshopped the edges to make it larger and then slapped a nice font onto it. This one took longer because I just had no idea what to do for it. I mean, what kind of picture is relevant for a tag about a book blogger’s secret life??? I eventually settled on this greenish colour themed picture of a desk. Which has no relevance whatsoever but looks pretty cool.

Who’s your book crush?

I don’t get book crushes (sorry). I connect to book characters a lot and yes I get extremely angry when they die (insert angry Japanese goblin emoji. You know the one) but I don’t crush on them. Dunno. It feels kinda fetishy XD

Which author would you like to have on your blog?

ANY AUTHOR AT ALL WOULD BE FAB. Not picky.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Um, okay? What do bloggers normally say? Should I say that I wear a black suit and tie and dress shoes, along with professionally styled hair? Sorry to disappoint but I just wear home clothes I guess. PJs. Unless I’m blogging in the library at school. Then it’s school uniform (yes Australians have school uniform. Eg: shirts that wrap around your neck and attempt to strangle you every time you move #Fun)

How long does it take you to prepare?

A LONG time. Unless it’s one like this where I just word vomit over whoever is unfortunately enough to be passing through the blog at this given moment. Then, most of the time is in the typing itself, and in the finding and creation of graphics.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

YOU GUYS ARE AMAZING!!

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

I recently learnt that blogging is all about connections and friendships. Which is why the first few months of my blog-life were so timid – because I just posted and then proceeded to ignore most of the people who commented :O That’s all changing in 2016 though 😀

Who do you tag?

Uh-oh. Who do I tag?? Let’s see.

Faith and Sarah @ Sublime Reads

Cait @ Paperfury

Sarah @ Written Word Worlds

Jen @ Combustible Reviews

Vics @ Books and Strips

Meena @ Tattooed Pages

Ashleigh @ A Frolic Through Fiction

Linh @ Thin Paper Backs

Alex @ Books, Cats and Maths

Astra @ A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

Alrighty then folks! You know what I strongly recommend? I recommend you go and check out all the blogs that I’ve mention above, coz all these people are amazing bloggers not to mention great people 😀 Until next time… sayounara!

(Also, feel free to do the tag anyway even if you weren’t mentioned! Shoot me a link below if you do)

32 thoughts on “Feature: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger (Tag)

  1. linhtruong

    I KNOW HOW YOU FEEL! How do bloggers post more than once a week? With schoolwork, choir, my Instagram, and actually reading, it’s already so difficult for me to find inspiration and time to write. Love this tag! I can’t wait to do it. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex

    That question about what you wear while blogging is so weird. I mean, are we going to wear fancy clothes or something? 😛 I so agree that blogging takes a LOT of time. There is so much I want to blog about but so little time!
    Your answers were fun to read! Also, thanks for tagging me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger (tag) – Reader. Writer. Dreamer.

  4. WOW. THANKS for that shout out and for tagging us! 😀 We’re glad we’ve helped you be less antisocial BUT HONESTLY we have NO CLUE how that happened because we’re basically the most socially awkward people we know irl. XD Here’s my strategy: I act all weird and “me” and the person either takes it or leaves it.

    I also take super long to write a blog post. Idk that’s just the way it is. Alsooo, PJs are the way to go for blog post writing!! We approve. Ain’t nobody got time to dress all fancy to nerd-out on a book. I mean, LET’S BE REAL PEOPLE. Unless you’ve got some lucky shirt or something. And your uniforms sure sound terrifying… good luck surviving another few months of them??

    Okay, I’m not sure if I should point this out but… when I got to the book crush fetish part I just FELT like saying, I SMELL LIES cuz that’s exactly what I’d say if someone asked me that question and I tried to pretend I didn’t have any. XD To be fair, it could happen and I don’t actually have any hardcore book crushes but I just laughed to myself when I read that. PLS DON’T HURT ME. (Sorry, just went off onto 10 000 000 tangents here… it’s me on the internet at midnight soooo).
    Anyways, we supah appreciate you mentioning us. You’re too nice lol. Keep up the fantastical blogging!! 🙂

    ~ From the both of us but mainly a Faith who’s trying to write “normally” in the middle of the night. Yup. (Apologies for this monstrous essay of a comment tho… I ramble.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh shit I’ve been caught out!! O_O

      Ahhaa you are way too perceptive. Or maybe we just think alike (high five. Great minds think alike). Or… maybe we’re long lost siblings that were separated at birth! (That’s obviously the best theory.)

      Anyway, if I had to choose a book crush, it’d probably be MISS TRUNCHBULL FROM MATILDA!! JUST KIDDING SHE STILL GIVES ME NIGHTMARES *shudder*. Probably Katniss Everdeen or Celaena Sardothien? Yeah. One of those two. Or both I guess.

      And yeah, you guys actually drew me out of my shell because I realised: “wow, book bloggers are really nice. Maybe I should start talking to them instead of IGNORING THEIR COMMENTS”. (Past me was a bitch).

      And anyway, it’s fine to internet at midnight. In fact, that is the best time to internet because you’re so tired, everybody starts to seem sane!! It’s a miracle.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I jellybeaning KNEW IT. I read it, then re-read it and I was like um shut up we all know we got dem fictional book crushes even if we don’t like to admit it. And I know this because I’m the EXACT SAME. (Yeah, we’re probably related. Someone better do some DNA testing right now). When people ask me, I be like pffttt what?? * Coughs * What do you mean book crush… watchu talking about…. I don’t have any. (And then you just grin all innocently and suddenly act confused or you just say something stupid). XD

        Ooooh… I see the pattern here. Dem badass heroine girls tho. (Wink wink, nudge nudge. Okay, I promise not to be that annoying older sibling- HAH WHO AM I KIDDING.) But yeah, I get it… I guess it’s only fair if I tell you mine then. It would probably be Percy Jackson? But that’s obvious, I think. AT LEAST you didn’t pick Levana or something as your book crush, just saying.

        Haha not ignoring people was definitely a good idea cuz YAY FRIENDSHIP and all. 😀 When we got our first comments, we used to go all ASDFGHJKL; mode.

        True. Internet-ing at midnight makes everything I do seem normal until I realise that everything I do is just plain weird, augmented by the fact that it’s wayyyy past my bedtime. This is why you’re supposed to read before you sleep instead of computering. Unless it ends in a cliffhanger… then it’s all already messed up.

        (DANG IT. I can’t help rambling even at 7pm. It’s a skill.)

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Yupp. I mean, what other skill would I have other than ranting and making bad puns??? I’m fantastic at word vomitting but uh, for essays, Sarah is the faster one. She reads fast and generally just does EVERYTHING faster. I can word vomit 1 000 000 words about literally NOTHING but essays and mediocre books sometimes do make me speechless. It’s RARE if I’m speechless. Like rarer than piece of raw meat. (Dunno if you got that. Props if you did but it’s a bad one anyways.)

            Okay, be honest. Would you defend Katniss if someone in real life told you that they despised her? Hey, I’m just curious. 😉

            ALSO. TIME ZONES ARE WEIRD. Because every time I comment here, it’s like the opposite in your time so responses are like 12 hours away soooo I’m just here like SUN JUST SPIN FASTER. Ya know, just felt like I should point that out.

            Have fun reading this in 12-ish hours. (I Googled the time difference and APPARENTLY it’s 16 hours. AHH WE ARE ON THE EDGES OF THE EARTH. This crazy. Or maybe I’m crazy. Probably both.)

            Liked by 1 person

            1. 3 hours later! I’m in school 😛 (Science UGH). And would I defend Katniss? I’m more of the silent-hating kind. I’d just like cut them off from every single social media and never talk to them again.

              And ugh IKR TIME ZONES. I send you a message tonight and then I wait. And wait. And wait. And then I realise that you’re probably sleeping and then like at 3 am in the morning I get a notification that you’ve replied XD

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Ayyy I’m 1 hour later!! Hey, science is pretty fun. And how on earth are you allowed an electronic in class… #rebelchild. But WOW I almost feel bad for that person you cut off. Remind me not to make any “Katniss is gross” remarks. * half-smirks, half-runs away * I’d just be like EXCUSEEE ME or I’d still pretend that I don’t care so that there’s no “conflict” but uh, pffttt I don’t have a book crush, remember?? (It’s super top secret intel so don’t tell a soul).

                I like how this is like a conversation through comments and between time zones. Like a “chat” option would be HELPFUL. Time zones? More like CRIME ZONES for these essay comments. I keep complaining but honestly I love paragraphs. 😀
                SAME SAME THOUGH. You’d comment and it’s like well, gotta wait another… 10 hours. GREAT.
                Btw in case you’re curious, it’s currently 11:36pm and I’m HUNGRY. You’re probably not curious.
                Also, A Darker Shade of Magic is bomb. Like it’s good. Like I wanna be Kell. He should gimme his awesome coat. You’ll get used to the randomness.

                Like

                  1. This is a million hours later at 11:28pm. Woot. Since you hate essays, here’s a non-essay comment.
                    I just finished a Darker Shade of Magic AND I JUST- KELL’S COAT NEEDS TO BE MY SPIRIT ANIMAL. (I’m probably writing that in my review :P) But seriously, 10/10!! The cover is great but here’s the thing: I didn’t see his face since it’s covered by his white hair… so at first, I thought the white WAS HIS FACE and he was just a hairy expressionless faced person. I was like, “Alright, going for the minimalist approach with no facial features…” #muchoconfusion
                    Ok, as I promised, no essays. I’M DONE. (Also, do you think we’re ever going to end this uber long chain of comments cuz sorry for the UTTER SPAMMAGE. I know, hate me. * cries *)

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. I’m not going. I’m only leaving forever. (I’m jk. And cruel. Did I scare you or what?) Yay 🙂 Glad I’m not THAT annoying. I’m uber excited to see your tag tho! When I see it, Imma just grab some popcorn because #theexcitementisreal. It’s also weird cuz there was NO REPLY BUTTON next to your last comment… DID WE BREAK THE COMMENT SYSTEM?!?! We definitely did- or would. Sooooo are we planning to continue this until we’re 90 cuz uh, that would be kinda sorta hilarious. Btw it’s FREEZING outside. It feels like -18 degrees Celsius, which compared to other possible days, isn’t that bad but still. And for the record: WE DON’T LIVE IN IGLOOS. I bet the entire world thinks that everyone up here lives on a tundra. Anywayyyys…

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. I don’t think Melbourne has ever had a day under 0 (nights not included). Although it’s definitely common to get days where’s it hailing and 15 degrees at 12 and then sunny and 30 degrees at 1. Not even kidding. Oh and I’m fairly sure it doesn’t let comments go past 10 threads. I dunno.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. That sounds like some crazily epic weather. Australia sounds like a pretty cool place I’d wanna visit. When I’m procrastinating, I just travel to places on Google Earth. XD You’re maybe right about the commenting thing. But I want to defy the commenting rules, so they’re just gonna have to deal with it. Ayyy teenage rebellion… So without any creepiness at all, how’s it going? Any good music you’re listening to? (Aha, no caps lock in this comment!)

                      Like

  5. Thank you for tagging me! I’m going to try to do this tag soon as it is like you said basically word vomiting which is what I’m good at 🙂 I didn’t know you live in Australia! The school uniform peeve is just the same as in the UK- it must be a universal thing actually.
    This was a really fun post to read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oooh, your answers are fantastic. I thought I was the only one who used tern word vomit. We must stay friends FOREVER NOW!

    I get the feeling a lot of blogger are maybe shy/introvert in real life. I am and I know that blogging and social media is a way for me to be sociable in a way that’s comfortable and enjoyable to me. I used to be nervous about even chatting online, but I’ve since gotten over that.

    I think your blog’s brilliant and look forward to more from you.

    I will definitely end up doing this tag.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww you are amazing! Thanks for all your kind words 😀

      Also, YES. I will be the friend that holds up your hair when you [word] vomit all over your [computer] garden after you’ve had one too many “beverages” [books].

      I’m actually pretty antisocial in real life. People on the internet are much better 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Cait @ Paper Fury

    AHH THIS WAS SO GREAT. Although I only got to the end of the post and then realised that I actually have done this tag before. *facepalm* It was a while ago tho?!?! So maybe I’ll do it again. 😛 REGARDLESS THANK YOU FOR THE TAG!! Ahem.

    Omg, and YES blogging takes up so much time. :O Like I don’t regret a second of it, but sometimes I do get frustrated with myself for spending hours agonising over a post. My dog starts chewing my toes. The dragons growl because they want sandwiches. Gah, so many life demands, YET THE BLOG GOES ON.

    Omg but only 7 months?!?! You are like a teeny tiny baby blogger. hehehhe AHEM. But seriously I thought your blog was a lot older because you are so professional and great at this. ;D SO KEEP UP THE AWESOME, PAUL.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

