SidePost: Dear Reader…

Dear reader

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve been posting less these few weeks, and that I’ve been posting posts that – at best – I would label “pissy”. And the reason for this is not something overtly overdramatic and life changing, like I was hit by a car, or my pet died and I’m in mourning or anything. Actually, school started again.

2016 is the start of a completely different schooling year. My school has a few campuses and they’re almost classified as “primary school”, “middle school” and “high school”, if you like – even though this is Australia and we only have Primary and High. I just started Year 9 a few weeks ago, which means it’s a completely different campus, completely different teachers, completely different teaching attitude.

Homework – ugh – has started to become a little more weighted, and I find myself spending less time blogging and more time doing maths – once again, UGH.

I think that I’ve settled into a bit more of a routine now, though, and so I’m definitely going to get back to reading and reviewing and writing discussion posts a little more regularly from now on. I’ve been feeling super guilty the last few weeks because I’ve posted so little and you guys are probably wondering where the hell I am.

At the same time, I’d like to issue an apology for all the publishing houses – especially Allen and Unwin who sent me a pack of books about a month ago (including Winterkill and Death by Water) – that sent me books a while ago that I haven’t gotten round to reading. I promise to get reading and reviewing more in the weeks to come!

Thanks so much for reading all this. I just felt like I needed to provide and explanation for my readers and an apology of some sort to the publishing houses. See you (a little more) in the coming weeks!

29 thoughts on “SidePost: Dear Reader…

  1. Pingback: Post nΓΊmero 100! I reveal a brand new blog theme (along with a fresh design) – The Galaxial Word

  2. Pingback: Feature: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger (Tag) – The Galaxial Word

  3. I’m in the states (and much older than you, eek), so I truly had no idea if your “Year 9” correlated exactly with our “ninth grade.” But I guess it basically does. It just threw me off because I genuinely thought you were older!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awe! give yourself a break. I always enjoy your posts and sometimes life happens, right? I sure the publishing houses won’t hold it against you πŸ™‚ They know their reviewers take time out of their schedule to read. All of the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks so much Meena. You are way too kind πŸ™‚ I just felt so guilty because it’s like if you’re sending me free stuff I should probably keep my side of the bargain, right XD? It’s so nice to hear that you enjoy reading my posts πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi there! I recently started following you so I didn’t really know about your past posting schedule but I just wanted to let you know that the beginning months of school are always horrible and you always feel like you’re sinking but you’ll get into the hang of it later! No stress or worries! We’ll be here patiently waiting.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Faith and I were both there πŸ˜€ Don’t worry ~ it gets better… until you reach grade 11/12 and wonder why you were so dumb as to start a blog and apply for universities at the same time XD
    Have fun though ~ it really is what you make of it! Sending happy polar bear vibes πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh the ever elusive Faith. Or wait. Is it Sarah? One of you is like a rare Pokemon that I occasionally encounter while walking in tall grass but I can’t remember which one XD Yes I’m dreading the higher years already and they haven’t even started. I think as long as I ease back a little bit of blogging when the time comes, blogging will be a good way for me to relieve stress and have a bit of a break now and then from studying (see, I’ve got it all planned out). Sending Pokeballs your way to try and catch the the ever elusive Faith/Sarah πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha XD It’s Sarah… I’m about as common as those grass pokemon. Every time you run through the tall grasses of the blogosphere, you’ll find me πŸ˜‰
        It really is a great stress reliever, though. Especially if you have a negative review… cough cough Kissing in America cough cough right before exams. It helped me, at least!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Ok I’m like dying right now. XD
        The weather in Toronto yesterday was 14 degrees… so no polar bears. And the closest polar bear to me currently is in the Toronto Zoo… in face, Toronto is closer to NYC than it is the north.
        In all honesty? I want a cute polar bear cub πŸ˜€

        Like

  7. Is Wikipedia leading me in the right direction on this: that if you are in Year 9, you are probably 14 or 15?! Is that true? Holy smokes, I thought you were WAY older than that. Now, I’m really impressed with your writing and blogging skills. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Aha did you actually have to consult Wikipedia for that XD Oh well, I guess double checking with Wikipedia is never a bad idea. And yep, that’s right? I’m 14. I started the blog when I was 13 (yeah I know I’m basically a baby) and I since I’m so young I hope to have a lot more time to develop the blog and carve out my very own corner in the Internet πŸ™‚ Thank you! It’s nice to hear that you like my writing. (Also it’s hilarious when I write stuff like: “Trigger warning, may be unsuitable for readers under 17 years of age due to high sexual content.” I write that more for kicks than anything. Who the hell doesn’t know what sex is by the time they’re 14?? XD)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course, what sort of Englishwomen would I buy if I wasn’t drinking tea?!
        No, that’s English, haha.

        British is Nothern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England. All of them are British, (as well as their own individual country) But people tend to identify British with English.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Ahh I see. I don’t geography very well. I always think of English/British people all having posh accents sitting around wearing corsets and drinking tea is parlours. Meanwhile us Aussies sit around in thongs (flip-flops, not G-Strings God forbid) with kangaroos romping around us XD

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s a common thing for people to do.

            Haha, that sounds glorious. Maybe in the Victorian ages we did that.

            There are a wide range of accents in England so we can’t even understand each other. But the posh accent does exist!

            I definitely identify Australia with Kangaroos and all manner poisonous beasties. D: And sunshine!

            Liked by 1 person

            1. YES the poisonous beasties omg. Search “koala” then search “angry koala”. Then search “cute platypus” and wallow in despair once you realise that that animal has poisonous spurs on the back of its heels and could kill you if it wanted to :O

              Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

