Review: The 5th Wave (Movie)

I picked up the book of The 5th Wave last year or so, read 40 pages, put it down and never looked at it again. The movie (which I won free tickets too) has done nothing to change that. Let’s go through the bad points one by one.

1. Chloe Grace Moretz

An overall completely underwhelming and poor performance by the film’s lead, Chloe Grace Moretz, who seems to be unable to do much other than widen her eyes and flare her nostrils to convey emotion. Not to mention the most clichéd movie voiceover I have ever head – with her best raspy, emotional, movie tone.

Sorry. Jennifer Lawrence or Shailene Woodley would have both done better jobs, in my opinion. I don’t really think Chloe Grace Moretz is the right choice for dystopian.
giphy
2. Cassie
So Cassie, the main character, is one of the most weakest female leads I have ever seen. Her bangin’, kickass lines include: “Oh shit!” “Sam!” “Noooooo!!”
Throughout the book, she kills two people yet makes a Hitler of choosing. While there’s very little shooting, there’s a lot of
“DROP THE WEAPON”
“NO YOU”
“NO, YOU FIRST”
“NO, YOU FIRST”
Needless to say, it starts to become a little childish after a while.
yf_northeastern_logo
And of the two people that she killed, one was a disabled man lying prostrate on the floor and the other was an “Other” (read: an alien come down to destroy humans) who technically should have been able to have her disarmed and dead within thirty seconds of Cassie touching her.
I mean, the Others are meant to be trained in goddamn kung fu and Cassie is a “normal” teen who has had no experience in fighting whatsoever, yet she manages to strangle this “Other” with a computer mouse.
Really-Animated-GIF
Cassie, sorry to say, but you wouldn’t survive 30 seconds if this book/movie was real.
(I mean, so the first wave destroys all electricity, which means there’s no running water – she says so herself. Yet, how does she survive with her family, get time to flawlessly paint her nails black, and eat and drink with 1) no food and 2) no water? There’s a scene in which she actually fills her water bottle from the river and drinks straight from it. Like, hello? Ever heard of boiling river water before you drink it so you don’t die of poisoning?)
Oh, and I forgot to mention that 70% of the movie is Cassie saying that she’s “tough” and “strong” and she’s an independent woman who ain’t need no man, then she obviously gets kidnapped, and has to be saved at the very last second by her hunky Prince Charming, Evan. And that brings me to my third point.
3) Romance
It’s like the author went through a checklist and ticked off what the romance needed.
1) Hot guy
2) Muscles
3) He saves her life
4) He bathes naked in the river and she sees his abs
5) Saves her on various occasions at the very last second
6) Has the fighting skills of Jackie Chan
7) Love at first sight
8) Love that transcends all barriers of logic, reason and laws of the universe
9) Star crossed lovers
10) The classic “And I… I choose you” scene.
11) Oh, and don’t forget the “I’ll come back for you!” (He doesn’t, btw)
really
Seriously, this goes beyond Instalove. This is basically a love built in heaven. *Yawn* (I mean, oh my God the BATHING NAKED IN THE LAKE scene is the MOST CLICHED thing I have EVER set eyes on)
4) The clichéd-ness
Here are some quotes from the movie (along with some facts):
The infamously aforementioned: “And I… I choose you” love confession *said in a breathy, husky, dreamy voice*
The also infamously aforementioned: “I’ll come back for you!” (said in a rushed, determined, loving voice)
She splits up with her brother (setting up the whole “I need to find my brother” thing) because he forgot his teddy at the camp, and she went back to get it. Does this sound familiar? Oh right, I’ve seen it only 3 billion times before.
The fact that the aliens are called “The Others”. #Creative
*said in whispery, scared voice* “What… what are you?”
*said in determined, heroic voice* “I know what you are”
rs_500x205-150612135611-doctor-capaldi-shut-up
And that’s most of what I could find. I’m sure there are more though.
5) Gaping plot holes
This book/movie/franchise relies majorly on gaping plot holes in order to work properly.
1) Why don’t they just adults instead of kids? I feel like this is mainly so we have a YA and not an adult book.
2) Why don’t the Others send down acid rain or something to kill everybody at once? Rather than going through waves and killing humans off one by one, why don’t they just kill every single person at once? I mean, you can make earthquakes and viruses and destroy all electricity, but you have to resort to killing off the last humans one by one?
3) Also, why doesn’t the virus kill everybody? Why are some people immune, and why do some people recover?
tumblr_mn7t0rEOHn1ssppvlo1_500
I don’t either, whoever you are.
6) Plot twists
So last night, when I was ranting about this movie to my friend I said to him:
“The plot twists weren’t very shocking, but I guess he had written himself into a hole. He couldn’t really do anything apart from make someone and alien, and it turns out that they betrayed the people or whatever.”
And he said back:
“You’re completely wrong. There are heaps of things he could have done. For example, what if the 5th Wave itself is just a government hoax? The aliens are trying to protect the humans from an even greater threat? I dunno.”
Honestly, I would have far preferred those plot twists to the one that he gave us – which was the completely expected twist of people turn out to be aliens. While I didn’t predict what would happen because of the people who were aliens, I definitely predicted who was going to be an alien. And I was right. Ugh. Get those creative juices flowing, Rick.
giphy
7) Action scenes
The worst it comes to is guns and bombs, and it’s not even strategic gunning and bombing with a plan or anything. It’s more “run in there and shoot whatever you see” gunning and bombing. Barely thrilling, and the nameless enemies just die with clean shots to the heart. No blood, no nothin’. Just collapse to the floor moaning.
george-michael-collapse-o
Also, it seems like everybody they fight seems to be a really bad shot, because while the enemies are dropping like flies due to their miraculously improved gunning after one lesson, the shots always seems to come precariously close to vital spots. Perhaps 10 centimetres from the head. But they never hit. Ever.
One good person dies, and he wasn’t even a supporting character, let alone a prominent one. He probably said 2… maybe even 3 lines? I WANT A SACRIFICE HERE.

And so that’s all I have for my rant on The 5th Wave movie. How many times did I use the word “Ugh” you say? Well, what a good question, and the answer is NOT ENOUGH.

14 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave (Movie)

  1. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts on The 5th Wave movie. I haven’t read the books or plan to see the movie because it’s not really my preferred genre and I don’t really have any interest in the plot. I was a little bit taken aback though by some of the things you said because they came across as a little bit disrespectful towards the author. Authors don’t usually have any input when it comes to adaptations, so to tell others not to read the book or give any more money to the author for writing a bland dystopian just rubs me the wrong way. I think there’s a way to negatively critique something without being disrespectful to the creator or the product itself. Just wanted to make you aware that your reviews could potentially make some readers feel uncomfortable (which your Soundless review also did for me).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry you felt that way 😦 I tend to go a bit overboard when I really did not enjoy a book/movie, because I feel like my time was wasted, and I could have spent that time doing/reading/watching something better. I didn’t realise that some people were getting uncomfortable reading my reviews, because I’ve never had anyone comment that before! Everybody just says that they’re funny, etc, but I didn’t think that people would be offended by me saying I didn’t like a book and don’t think they should read it either. I’ll try to keep this in mind when reading future reviews, thank you so much for mentioning it to me. Maybe I should just not mention the author in negative reviews 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t think anybody in the community is very confrontational, and neither am I (just for the record 😀 ). but I would want to know if people felt uncomfortable reading anything I had written, so I thought I’d let you know. Your reviews ARE funny and I do enjoy reading them, but I guess try to be mindful that other people might like the book or even call it a favourite.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Rhenan

    I respect what you said, but your plot holes aren’t exactly plot holes. All three are answered in the books.
    The movie may be bad, but the novel is well-constructed

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ok then! I haven’t read the next few books so I don’t know. I was planning to see Movie 2 when it eventually comes out, if only to see if the plot holes were going to be wrapped up, but it’s good to hear that they are. I still found the quotes (presumably at least a few of them probably taken straight from the book) and some of the scenes (eg, the bathing naked in the lake scene) clichéd though 😦 Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  3. Ugh (now you got me saying it) that’s so disappointing! It looked/sounded really cool too. But I don’t have time to read shitty, clichéd books, so bye Felicia. I’m surprised there wasn’t a love triangle. There probably is, in the later books. But those clichés you mentioned…why.. why put all of those in one book….poor book….
    Btw your reviews are amazing and I always enjoy them ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, you are amazing *sends panda hugs* and ikr, that poor book being shoved full of clichéd. I can understand one or two, that may have slipped in by accident but the whole book, from the plot to the “kickass, strong independent” heroine to the quotes to the setting is clichéd and it just did not grab my interest at all. Not to mention that my eyes still hurt from so much eye rolling. I’m still going to see Book 2 if only to see if he wraps up some of the plot holes. I really hope that he does.

      Like

  4. You highlighted a lot of the issues I had while reading this book and then some. Kinda disappointed to hear they carry through into the movie. (But who am I kidding, I’ll likely go see it anyways). Though! Since reading book two, there has been hints as to why the entire population is being systematically destroyed instead of just wiped out all at once, so I have a feeling Yancey left that one open-ended on purpose. Hopefully the reasoning will make sense. Anyway, very entertaining review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Definitely didn’t expect such a rant on such a hyped up book-based movie! Truly enjoyed your thoughts on it. Got to say that there’s this new thing going on in the book world nowadays with dystopian-girl-protagonists; and it doesn’t look too good for a lot of them.

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s going to be hard for authors to create a kickass, strong heroine without having them either look weak in comparison to others, such as Katniss and Celaena Sardothien, or clichéd and boring :/ I see so little of male heroes in dystopian novels nowadays.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey don’t knock Jackie Chan. He has mad skillz, bruh 😛
    I’m not surprised that the movie wasn’t that great. The book passed by me in a boring blur. But hey, at least you didn’t shell out money for the tickets! XD

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

