Review: The Unexpected Everything

The-Unexpected-Everything-Morgan-Matson

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks)

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing – if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?


tue

Oh my God. Morgan Matson. You have completely exceeded my expectations. At the risk of sounding like John Green, I’m going to say that at this point I would read your shopping list and probably write a 1000 word, 10 star review on it. Because that’s how good this book is. Thank you so, so, so, so, so, so (x100000000) much to Jen at Simon and Schuster for sending me an arc because OMG I WOULD BE A GLOOPY MESS IF I HAD TO WAIT TO MARCH 2016 FOR THIS BUNDLE OF GOODNESS. I feel like this review is going to be more of a shrieking pile of “OMG PREORDER THIS BOOK IMMEDIATELY” rather than a civilised discussion about the book’s ups and downs. Oh well.

oh-well.jpg
This pun is actually amazing.

So this book is thick. My copy is 517 pages long. And yet, I’m on page 417 and suddenly realise that OMG there are ONLY 100 PAGES LEFT OF THIS BOOK and I’m like *reads one word at a time trying to savour it* and then *gives up because the book is way to good to read slowly*.

Let’s talk about the plot. Andie is a planner. Yes. A plannerOne of those people. People who are like:

“So. I’ve planned out the job that I’m going to have when I’m 40 years old, I’ve bookmarked a list of websites that seem like a good choice, I’ve drawn up a list of jobs that I can do in the meantime to help me get more experience so I can put them on my resume to give to the employer that I’m going to meet in thirty years. I’ve also started learning Chinese, Japanese, French, Italian, Spanish, and Hindi so that I can communicate effectively with my future customers.”

90d13321-29aa-47a8-8b52-a9fb2cb91573

Andie (short for Alexander. Also, why are so many of the girls known by male names. Like, Toby is a girl! Girl! I keep on thinking she’s a boy, and then there are scenes where it’s like: “Toby was wearing Bri’s lacy bra and short short skirt” and I’m like WHAT THAT’S SO WEIRD and then OHHHH SHE’S A GIRL, I forgot. Also, Palmer. Also female.) has got the whole summer planned out. She’s got an internship, a group of amazing friends and a few short term relationships set up (short terms as in three-weeks-long-short-term). But then. DUN DUN DUNNNNN (in bold coz it’s important). Her father is caught up in a scandal. (Her father is a very important political person running for Governor or Congressman or whatever they have over in America. *nods*)

At first, I thought it would be like a sexual scandal, and he was caught leaving a brothel or something and I was like: “Wow this took a strange turn”. But *sigh* It’s one of those boring money-related scandals.

Anyway. Her father is now basically shamed because he allegedly stole money from charities and channeled them into the funding for his campaign

sponsor-tormentor-001

As a result of this, Andie no longer has an internship because the person who put in a recommendation for her was her father’s friend, except he’s no longer her father’s friend which is the whole problem.

So she looks for a job. But it seems like the only job available is a dog-walking job (hence the amazing cover with A PUG OMG and other dogs that don’t matter)

And then she meets Clark!

(Actually, talking of Clark, I was thinking. It feels like Clark is such a normal name like “Henry” or “John” but then when I try to think of anyone I know named Clark all I can think of is Superman and I don’t really know him. I wish. But I don’t. Do you know anyone called Clark? LEMME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS! Let me hear about all these Clarks.)

So Clark is the cute, awkward guy who doesn’t know how to hold a normal conversation without it becoming awkward.( Omg I swear like 60% of this book is awkward conversations and awkward hugs.)

cfb870f3d96fc3fd7b2fe70e8d942371

You know how much I hate insta-love. Morgan Matson probably agrees with me because THERE’S NO INSTA LOVE *phew*. It’s more the initial attraction (“Oh, he’s cute!”) and then a few meetings later (They meet coz Andie walks his dog. Remember? The whole dog walking business) and then a date, and then marriage, and then a baby and then –

Let’s not get carried away.

Anyway, if you like romance then this is the book for you. If you like friendship-themed, then this is the book for you. If you like Rainbow Rowell, this is the book for you. If you like GETTING YOUR HEART RIPPED OUT AND TORN TO SHREDS WHILE MORGAN STANDS THEIR LAUGHING AMONGST THE FALLING PIECES then this is the book for you!

Can we talk about the feels? I thought that it wasn’t possible to have me feel for a character if there wasn’t a death but apparently I’m mistaken because about 4/6 to 5/6 of this book is just

w8fIAh

It wasn’t depressing. More, like ANDIE YOU STUPID GIRL WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING YOU’RE JEOPARDIZING A MAJOR PART OF THIS BOOK combined with OMG NOOOOOOOOO HOW COULD YOU DO THIS MORGAN NOOOOOOO.

I want to rant more but I’m becoming increasingly aware that you’re probably going to be intimidated by the length of this post, so I’ll do a quick recap of this book before I go.

Characters: 10/10 (Believable, hilarious)

Dialogue: 10/10

Style of writing: 10/10

Romance: 11/10 (Math does not obey when it comes to Morgan Matson)

Cover: 10/10 (Call me superficial BUT THE COVER’S IMPORTANT, OK?)

And most importantly…

USE OF EMOJIS: 1041029401209521/10 (EMOJIS FOR THE WIN)


Thank you to Simon and Schuster for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review!


Rating: ★★★★★★★★★★ 10/10


The Unexpected Everything is expected May 2016. Preorder now, or MAKE A NOTE IN YOUR CALENDAR. DO IT QUICK.


The Info:

  • Title: The Unexpected Everything
  • Author: Morgan Matson
  • Paperback: 517 pages
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster (May 3rd, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN10: 1481404547
  • URL: Goodreads
6 thoughts on “Review: The Unexpected Everything

  1. Pingback: Feature: 2016 TBR Part 1 | The Galaxial Word

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury

    So I get this vague feeling YOU KINDA LIKED THIS??? XD hehe, that is awesome, yayyy for such a great review. 😀 I loved and adored Since You’ve Been Gone, but I just read Second Chance Summer and…blah. I was super bored. So I’m kind of scared to try this one?! AND I AM A PLANNER. XD An intense planner…like I plan my day to the minute *coughs awkwardly* So I’m not sure if this book will kind of put down that? Hmm. All these questions. I do want to try it eventually…

    CAN I PAUSE AND ADMIRE THE OH WELL PUN. BECAUSE THAT IS GRAND.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

