Review: All Sorts of Possible

all-sorts-of-possible-9781471143663_hr

When the sinkhole opened there was no time to brake or turn the wheel and the old green Land Rover was snatched off the dirt road over the smoking rim.

The moment a sinkhole swallows the car that Daniel and his father are travelling in, everything changes: suddenly Daniel is the ‘miracle boy’ who survived unharmed whilst his father is left trapped in a coma. So how did Daniel escape? Was it luck or something more – was it really a miracle? Mason, a small-time gangster, thinks so.When he decides the boy has been saved to help him with the biggest score of his career, Daniel is suddenly facing a life or death situation all over again…

A lyrical and atmospheric novel about love, loss and learning to accept the world for what it is, not what you want it to be, perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and David Almond.


It’s been a while since I’ve read a profound, philosophical novel, and here comes along a book about a boy who has fallen into a sinkhole, and escaped alone and alive –  a miracle survivor. The blurb talks about luck, fate, comas, etc. I was expecting something deep and mystical about the meaning of life. 50 pages in and BAM, the book swerves into

a fantasy direction. Meaning of life goes down the drain. Oh well.

I still quite liked the book, I just wasn’t expecting fantasy. Be warned that when the blurb talks about fate, it literally means fate and magic and higher powers and God and stuff. Not just fate as in “Why did I survive that tragedy? Why am I still here?” Nup. Magic.

Anyway, on to the writing style. I think that Rupert’s writing style is better suited to tense action scenes – I whipped through those – and unfortunately, although there’s a lot of threatening to break Granny’s fingers and threatening to kill people, there’s actually not much violence at all boo.

Having said that though, the little violence there was was surprisingly gory yay! There were scenes where certain limbs exploded, scenes where certain limbs broke (WHAT DO YOU HAVE AGAINST LIMBS RUPERT?), etc. So just be warned.

Although I said that the action parts where the best parts of the book (wait, have I said that? Oh well. I have now), the parts where the action wasn’t that much were still good. He also incorporates a lot of the senses into his writing.

Through the open window next to him the boy could see between bars of dirty sunlight all the way to the other side…

He could smell the cold.

Hear damp crackling on stones.

He’s managed to get seeing, smelling, hearing and even feeling in there. So kudos for that!

On the topic of the sinkhole: his journey in the sinkhole is actually quite touching. You’d think that a sinkhole – blah –  just a sinkhole. You fall in, you get back out again. But that all changes when the sinkhole IS GODDAMN MASSIVE, YOU’RE TRAPPED UNDER ROCKS, YOU CAN’T CLIMB OUT, IT’S DARK, YOUR PHONE IS RUNNING OUT OF BATTERY, AND YOUR FATHER IS POSSIBLY DEAD. Surprisingly tense – and as I said before, Rupert is very very good at writing tense scenes.

To the negatives. For some reason, the main character, Daniel, felt quite 2D, or flat to me. I don’t exactly know why, but I think it was because he always seemed to be in shock. His relationship with his dad wasn’t established enough at the beginning, and so I felt that the reason he was doing what he was doing, putting his life in danger, etc, (to save his dad) wasn’t really a valid reason, because we weren’t really shown how much he loved his dad. It was a little bit of a weird reading experience.

Overall though, in simple terms, I liked it!


Thank you to Simon and Schuster for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review!


Rating: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ 7/10


All Sorts of Possible is out now. Buy at your local bookstore.


The Info:

  • Title: All Sorts of Possible
  • Author: Rupert Wallis
  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (August 12th, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN13: 9781471143663
  • URL: GoodreadsSimon and Schuster
Advertisements

What do you think? Let me know!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s