Let’s Talk: The Seven Types of Book Bloggers

Cover Image

Having been in the blogosphere for a while now, I think I’ve encountered all kinds of bloggers now, and in my mind, I feel like I’ve categorised all these bloggers into seven categories. So, anyway, here’s my input into the types of bloggers you’ll find in the great big world of blogging. (And also, I kind of did this post coz I really, really wanted to use these super cute graphics from Freepik 😆) Leave a comment below telling me what category you think you belong to! (Oh, and by the way, please don’t take offence at anything I say. This post is for entertainment purposes only 😋)


Sarcastic

We all know who this one is. The dry, sarcastically witty one who takes a book they don’t like, extend the catty claws and rips into a million and one shreds, then incinerates it in the fireplace of words. Then, in the “Review Policy” section, they’ll put something like: “Nothing I say is intended to be hurtful or cruel”, then go and reviews books by saying: “I HATED THIS BOOK SO MUCH THE MAIN CHARACTER WAS A BITCH.” However, on the extreme flip side, books that they do like are given extremely funny, witty, uplifting review that make you want to go out and buy the book immediately. So, it can either be extremely good or extremely bad.


Review Churner

These are probably the people that I get most jealous of. The people who post a review literally every day, or every two days. It’s like: “HOW ARE YOU FINDING THE TIME TO READ ALL THESE BOOKS WHEN I’M STRUGGLING THROUGH ONE MEASLY 200 PAGE BOOK??? DO YOU NOT HAVE RESPONSIBILITIES LIKE ME???”. *goes away sobbing because of my super slow reading speed*

Graphics Mage

This is probably the one I have to admit I’m closest to at the moment. I didn’t use to make my graphics. I just took the cover off Google and then reviewed it. But, I’m glad to say that since I decided to free up my blog a little bit with posts like these “Let’s Talk”s instead of just reviews, I’ve also made heaps of graphics for my blog and for the posts. E.G. this one. The thing I struggle with most, though, as a Graphics Mage, is the time it takes to makes graphics. I mean, for this post, I had to make eight individual banners/header images 😓 That takes a lot of time. Plus, you tend to get sucked into the circle of procrastination looking for cool images to use. Like, you see the Page 2 button, and you go: “but what if I’m looking for is just on the next page… Just one click away… I better check”. And then the same with Page 3… and Page 4… and Page 5…
Story Teller

You know this person. The one who puts heaps of personal stories into their reviews. “There’s a scene in the book where the characters go to the beach and oh also that reminds me of the time I went to the beach too *proceeds with 400 word description about their beach trip ten years ago*” An upside, though, is that you end up knowing the person so well, you really feel like you’re a really close friend even though you’ve never met them before! I mean, there’s one blogger I know that has her whole life story in between the words of her reviews.

Potty Mouthed

The unshameful potty mouthed who has no censor whatsoever. Do I really need to elaborate?

Essay Writer

I’ve only come across one blog like this so far, but I don’t doubt that there are many others. I feel like the people who write 1000 word essays on their opinion of a book, and don’t have discussion posts or anything apart from solely review on their blogs, must be very studious people in real life. Like, A+ all the way! Recommendation though, coming from a blog that used to be specifically dedicated to book reviews and book reviews only, try adding discussion posts, etc to break up the monotony a bit. Blogs like these tend to get more followers/views and reader engagement over blogs that are specifically dedicated to reviewing. Also, most people don’t read past about 400/500 words, so I recommend that you don’t write full essays because if we’re on our computer looking for a good book to read, we don’t want to spend 10 minutes reading about one book 😅 .

Capital Letterer

OMG I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH AND I WILL READ EVERY SINGLE BOOK THAT THIS AUTHOR PRODUCES FOR THE REST OF ETERNITY AND I WILL GET MY GRANDCHILDREN AND GREAT-GRANDCHILDREN AND GREAT-GREAT-GRANDCHILDREN TO READ THIS BOOK AS WELL BECAUSE IT’S JUST THAT AMAZING YOU NEED TO SPRINT STRAIGHT TO YOUR LOCAL BOOKSTORE RIGHT AWAY AND BUY THIS BOOK AND READ IT BEFORE YOU GO TO SLEEP TONIGHT BECAUSE YOU CANNOT LIVE ANOTHER SECOND WITHOUT READING THIS BOOK.

OMG I HATED THIS BOOK SO MUCH I CAN’T EVEN IT WAS LIKE SO HORRIBLE IT GAVE ME GOOSEBUMPS I FORBID YOU FROM EVEN THINKING ABOUT THIS BOOK AGAIN IT’S A COMPLETE WASTE OF SPACE AND MONEY THIS BOOK HAS A PERMANENT SPOT ON MY LEAST LIKED BOOKS OF ALL TIME DO NOT EVEN WASTE YOUR EFFORT ON GETTING THIS BOOK FROM THE LIBRARY.


When I first started off, I was mostly just a review blog. I actually didn’t start doing graphics or Let’s Talk posts until recently, but now, it just seems like an essential part of reviewing. What about you? Do you guiltily admit to being any of these blogging types? Do you sometimes incorporate a variety of all of these into your blogs? Let me know in the comments below!

40 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: The Seven Types of Book Bloggers

  1. Another great post. I like to think I am a mix of all three. My reviews can definitely read like essays where I talk about my opinions but try to give solid reasons for them and then that takes me 700 or so words.

    I have been trying to break up my posts with memes and tags lately and I am working on a discussion post. (I’ve only been posting on my main blog for a few months.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find that if you put all of your points into simple point form, and then spend one paragraph at max expanding them, you usually get around the 400 mark. After 450 words (3 minutes reading time or so), people just tend to stop reading 😦 Of course, if you’ve got HEAPS to say, then sure, go ahead, but make sure that you break it up with frequent visuals (gifs, fan art, etc).

      I don’t do many tags or memes, but I do quite enjoy discussion posts! Good luck, and thank you for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

  2. Loved this post!! I think I’m the “Review Churner”. It’s sad how I got that way. Wanting to attract publishers for reading/reviewing material I was blogging every day. well it worked. Now I have more to review than I can keep up with. But since I’m retired, I do have time to read 2-3 books a week and love doing it. Being a free-book junky also adds to the TBR pile. Thanks for liking one of my reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, this was fun! And the graphics you have used are cute and simply awesome! I’m positive I’m one The Essay Writers… :p Those who write book reviews nearly every day are using a Time Turner for sure. That’s the only explanation I can come up with. :p

    Like

  4. Alex Ramsey

    I loved reading your post though I don’t know which category I fall under. 😧
    Your graphics are really pretty especially the owls! They are so cute and owls are my favourite birds! I also liked the other animals too but I’m a sucker for owls.

    Like

  5. I seriously don’t know which one am I, but I am most definitely guilty of being the potty mouth type, but I’m really trying my best to reduce the amount of time I cursed because I was just recently informed that a daughter of a friend of mine regularly checks my blog for book review (which is endearing and all but kinda limits the freedom of speech I would generally have). I just wished someone could tell me which one am I. 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Uh oh, I think I’m a review churner? *hides* Don’t hate me! I literally have a job that is 90% downtime, and 10% extreme overwhelming insanity, so I read a lot during the downtime and then cry and wish I had a therapist during the busy periods.

    I will say that I do mostly review posts, although I try to break that up with tours and weekly memes. If you have any advice on how to break out into discussion posts, I’d love to hear it!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Ahaha your job sounds amazing! I would love to have a job where you can read and still get paid – even if it means 10% extreme overwhelming insanity XD I think I will probably do a few more “tips” posts in the coming weeks/days for other bloggers, about graphics, etc, since I have gotten a few requests. See you soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. On the one hand, I’m sad to be leaving this post in two months, because it means I’ll lose my reading time, but I’m definitely looking forward to a lower-stress job!

        Looking forward to your future posts and graphics, your blog is beautiful and a joy to read!

        Like

  7. Great post – glad I found your blog. I’m a big fan of the graphics 🙂

    I guess if I fall into any of the characters then it’s the churner …. although sometimes I end up going a week without posting a review and then have to play catchup! But I do tend to read one book every two-three days or so.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love this post! I don’t really know which one I fit in at the moment but I’m kinda leaning to the The Capital Letterer lol, Btw, your graphics are freaking amazing. I don’t even know where to start when it comes to that. What tools do you use?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Haha I really love this! You’re graphics are so cute omg
    Guilty. I used to be a graphics mage (on another blog a long, long time ago) until my laptop died, so it’s hard to do so otherwise. I’m most likely a sarcastic blogger now haha

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh god, the owls… I love them!
    I think I might be a sarcastic essay writer? I don’t care, this is a very great post and The Review Churner is spot on for El from Just love. How can one person review so much? HOW?!
    I’m jealous of your graphics… well done!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. AHHHHHH SORRY SORRY STOP HATING ME! I actually just commented below about this… my current job is a LOT of downtime. There are some days when I only have one or two hours of work to do out of an 8 hour work day, so I read at my desk a lot. But there are also days when I’m flat-out from 6am until 6pm with barely a pause for meals, and it’s literally the hardest work ever. So I can usually read a book a day at work on slow days (and I’m a quick reader in the first place).

      Liked by 3 people

  11. Loved this post! It was so spot on. 🙂 I also wanted to give you a heads up that the link to freepix is a very umm…unsavory one (it’s a p*rn site)! I’m 100% sure that was not intentional and figured I’d pass it along. I just really wanted to know the site you used for these cute graphics!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What a great post! I loooove your graphics and have been jealous of them ever since I started following you. :p

    I’m not really sure which type I’m closest to at the moment… I do write a lot of reviews, but some other bloggers do even more than I do and it always surprises me how often they find the time to do it. I am a really fast reader, though (i.e. a typical YA book probably takes me 3-4 hours), and I stay up way, way, WAY too late (and too much) for me to be 100% awake during my day job.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Very cool blog post. I could say im the review churner but the truth is i inly post reviews every 2 or 3 days. But i love your graphics. Actually im secretly jealous as i know how to do photoshop but i dont do it enough. Maybe you can share some tips on how you create your graphics. And dont forget reviews are more about the quality not the quantity. So take as much time as you need when reading your book.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

