Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

9781406367478

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

Award-winning writer Patrick Ness’s bold and irreverent novel powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable.


the rest of us just live hereFor all you foodies out there, this book is a little like a paella dish. There are so many separate elements (mental illness, suicide, fantasy elements, political themes, family issues, sexuality struggles, romance, etc) all joined together with one common theme (not being the chosen one), and honestly, I feel like he’s trying a little too hard.

It’s almost like there are two books. There’s one that, basically, is the book. The main story. The life story of our main character, Mikey. And then there’s a second book, told in short snippets at the start of each chapter. This is your generic, clichéd, run-of-the-mill fantasy spiel, with “Immortals”, “Vessels”, teen heroes, sacrifices, etc.

It’s a great concept. Truly. It really is. To have the idea of writing a book about the extras in a movie, the background characters, and then have the writing skill to pull it off nicely is really quite good. But, you have to do something. I mean, although the stories were interesting, nothing really happened. It was what I call a “flounder”. A book that flounders around, stuck in the metaphorical mud because it has no plot, and instead, only has a sequence of events. There’s a difference between plot and sequence of events. With a plot, you can always tell where the book is going to go. It’s striving to go somewhere. It’s like an arrow that’s on it’s way to a target. But a sequence of events is like an arrow that is flying through the air, hoping that when it lands, there will be a target.

However, that doesn’t mean that it’s a bad book. It just means that it’s not going anywhere definable. Many books that seem to be randomly happening can be held up by characters, and I have to say, Patrick has excelled in the character area. There is noticeable character development, something that isn’t seen in many books, and the relationships between each other characters is obviously very worked upon, which I appreciate.

This was my first Patrick Ness book, and I have to say, it left me a little emotionless. I think I’ll read the Chaos Walking series after this. That’s meant to be quite good. I definitely recommend this book for people who want a more slower-paced read.


Thank you to Walker Books for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest opinion!


Rating: ★★★★★★☆☆☆☆ 6/10


The Rest of Us Just Live Here is out now. Buy at your local bookstore.


The Info:

  • Title: The Rest of Us Just Live Here
  • Author: Patrick Ness
  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Walker Books (August 27th, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN: 1406331163
  • URL: GoodreadsAmazonThe Book Depository
11 thoughts on “Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

  1. Pingback: Review: More Than This | The Galaxial Word

  2. Hmm, I was planning to read this and a lot of what you said makes sense. I guess I’ll have to read it for myself to see!
    I found out about your blog about a second ago and I’m already in love with its design and all the typography that you use (this one especially)! Keep up the great work! 🙂 Also I know you probably get asked this a ton but what do you use to edit/make those banner typography type pictures (like the watercolour)? I’m trying to improve on my editing skills haha. Anyhow, sorry for the longer comment but I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahaha thank you so much, I’m glad you like my blog 🙂 I mainly use Photoshop. I recommend you also check FreePik.com if you’re looking for more graphics. They have a wide range of resources, all for free. If you’re willing to spend some money on premium resources, try browsing CreativeMarket, but the things there can be a little expensive. There are some actions that you can download that take your images and overlay a watercolour effect onto them. Try googling “Watercolor Photoshop Actions” or something. Good luck 🙂 !

      Like

  3. Awesome review. Seems like I won’t be the only one who’s going to embark on the Patrick Ness boat for the first time with The Rest of Us Just Live Here. I definitely plan on reading the Chaos Walking Series after this book.

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think? Let me know!

