Review: The Good Girls

the-good-girls

From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars series, comes the shocking sequel to The Perfectionists—with an ending you’ll have to read to believe!

Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. Even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone elsethey named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets?


Apparently this is the second book in a series. Well, I didn’t know that. Although, this is definitely a good sign, because that just means that Shepard has recapped the previous book really well. So kudos on that.

slack-imgs.com

I haven’t read Pretty Little Liars, so I don’t know much about Shepard’s writing style but I don’t think I like it. It seems a little inexperienced, even though she’s written so many books by now. She seems to use longer, out of the ordinary words that tend to roll around the [metaphorical] tongue a bit, making the reader linger a little longer on the words. This gets kind of annoying, because you just want to read the book and get the gist of what’s happening, not really read the book and get caught up on a word every four words or so. Anyway, that might just be a personal opinion, but for me, the writing style was boring… until it got to the action. Then, my God, the writing was smooth, it was nicely-paced and descriptive. But just in the first few pages of the book, with the setting up, it seemed annoying.

Talking about the beginning, I didn’t like it. It was way too fast. There was no suspense at all, the major driving point of the book is given barely more than a sentence, and already, two people are dead within the first 15 pages and I find that I just don’t care. If you’re going to write a mystery book, then there needs to be some mystery, even if you really want to skip past the info dumping and setting up at the start of the book. But it got better once Shepard actually started taking her time and found her rhythm. So, push past the first 30 pages or so, and you’ll be fine.

Okay. Now to the ending. It was heavily advertised, even: ‘with an ending you’ll have to read to believe!’ on the cover. 99.99% of people seem to love it. However, it just so happens that I’m in the 0.01% that didn’t. I thought that she took the easy way out. It wasn’t that creative, and although it was definitely surprising it wasn’t good. It felt too much of a “I don’t know how to finish this book and so I’ll do this random bit”. Some things just didn’t add up, and although Shepard tried to cover all possibilities, she just unfortunately missed some and I couldn’t help but dwell on how the ending worked. I can’t talk much without actually revealing the ending, but I’ll just say that although it didn’t feel rushed, it felt improvised and unthought out.

slack-imgs-1.com

So, all in all, good plot, but a bit dodgy to start and a little bit of a lazy ending. The writing style started off annoying but eventually got better as the action and mystery increased.


Rating: ★★★★★★★☆☆☆ 7/10


The Good Girls is out now. Buy at your local bookstore.


The Info:

  • Title: The Good Girls
  • Author: Sara Shepard
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Teen (June 2, 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062074547
  • URL: Goodreads
2 thoughts on “Review: The Good Girls

  1. I was pulled into reading the Pretty Little Liars series a couple of summers ago at the beach. I enjoyed the 1st 2 books for what they were and flew through them. By the fourth book things were so repetitive and there was no end in sight. Even though countless ppl seem to love her writing I vowed after book 4 to never pick up another book by her. Seems like I made the right choice lol

    Like

  2. Nice review ! You’ve covered some rather interesting points. Seems like those “easy way out” are more common than I thought. I’ve just recently reviewed Omertà by Mario Puzo and I also believe the ending falls in the same category as The Good Girls. I’ve never read anything from Sara Shepard but I know that my girlfriend has read Ali’s Pretty Little Lies and adored it. She’s never read any other books from her though.

    – Lashaan

    Like

What do you think? Let me know!

